Conlon & Boyle 2nd in Gullion

Posted: November 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

Michael Conlon and Aidan Boyle brought the infamous MC Blinds escort to Newry on Saturday last for the Newry and District Motor Club Gullion Stages Rally. After a daylong battle with Damian Toner/Paddy McCague they were edged out of the over-all win by nineteen seconds after 7 demanding stages. Weather conditions made the famous Gullion and Camlough stages even more challenging by virtue of thick fog in places coupled with the slippy forest tarmac. Local men David Armstrong and Damian Fleming were 3rd, also in an escort. Micky and Aidan started off with two stage wins but by stage 3 they were level with Toner, both their stage times never more than a second apart. By stage 5 Toner had pulled out a 5 second lead, albeit in a more powerful car. Over the final two stages Micky and Aidan kept the pressure on but Toner didn’t let up and went on to take a deserved win. They final stage of the day, big gullion was cancelled due to the thickening fog with visibility at a minimum. Clones man Raymond Conlon with Adrian McCrudden on the notes also made their annual pilgrimage to Newry and had a great run to 6th over-all. This result also merited 3rd in class for the Conlon Travel backed twin-cam. Martin Connolly was on the notes for Barry Greer in the fiesta and they took a 13-second class win and 9th over-all. Cootehill’s Mervin Wedlock and Damian McCabe also made the trip northeast to Newry and finished 19th over-all. Last minute entrants Laurence Sherry and Jonathan Treanor had an enjoyable day through the Gullion and Camlough mountain stages to take 3rd in their class. Well done to all the travelling Monaghan men.

Dunlop National Rally Championship Prize giving

The 2011 Dunlop National Rally Championship Awards Presentation was held on Saturday night last in the Clayton Hotel Galway. The series was won by Meath’s Tim McNulty and Paul Kiely after 10 rounds throughout the country. Monaghan’s Sam Moffett and James O’Reillys consistency paid off as they finished 2nd over-all and took the group N honours. Maynooth’s Kevin Barrett and Sean Mullally were 3rd over-all. A host of Monaghan crews collected class awards on what was an enjoyable and entertaining night in Galway. Shane Maguire and Damian Connolly took the class 4 honours, Damian navigating for Robert Barrable. Ballinodes Niall Maguire and Enda Sherry won class 8 in their Subaru. Aaron Mc Quaid was 2nd in class 10 with his navigator Aidan Coyle going one better and taking 1st in class 10. Gerard McQuaid finished 2nd in class 11 while his navigator Gareth Quinlan took 1st in class. Arthur and Macartan Kierans were once again on the winner’s podium, taking the class 12 honours with a win on the final round in Skibbereen. John McQuaid and Seamus O’Connor finished 2nd in class 14 in their powerful escort. Carrickmacross men Johno and Padraig Doogan were also presented on the night for their over-all junior rally championship win. David Moffett finished 2nd in class 16 in the junior rally championship while his navigator Patrick Brides took the class 16 win. Once again well done to all club members who picked up awards on the night. Monaghan Motor Club Annual Awards and Ladies Night Keep free Saturday 3rd December for Monaghan Motor Clubs annual Awards ceremony in the ideal surroundings of the Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan. This year’s awards ceremony has a little twist as the club has decided to recognise the unsung heroes of the club. These are the people behind the men who are always there to support the boys when things go well and there with a shoulder to cry on when they may not go according to plan. These are the LADIES of the club. We want to show the club’s appreciation to the wives and girlfriends of the competitors. There will be lots and lots of spot prizes on the night. Spot prizes for the ladies only will include: €200 spa voucher for the Radisson Hotel in Cavan, €100 spa voucher for the Hillgrove Hotel, €100 voucher for Hi-Maintenance. There will also be vouchers for Lingerie, Hair & Jewellery. Only ladies present on the night will be eligible to win any of the prizes. MC and DJ on the night is the one and only Sean McCaffrey. Club championship results are available on the club website and tickets for the night are available from any committee member. Hope to see you all there as this promises to be a night to remember. More information next week.

Midlands Navigation Trial

All roads lead to Foxfield, Fenagh, Co Leitrim this Saturday night for Round 3 of the Squealing Pig Border navigation championship and Round 4 of the National navigation championship. Full Report next week.


Comments are closed.