Daniel McKenna win’s Billy Coleman Award

Posted: January 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

Young Scotshouse man Daniel McKenna has been selected as the 2012 Billy Coleman award winner at the Champions of Motorsport ceremony in Dublin recently. Daniel scooped this prestigious award on merit of his results to date which include an overall win on the Monaghan Stages Rally 2012 and top 5 finishes in many other high profile events throughout the past few years. This is the third year that Daniel has received a nomination for this award.

There were eight nominees for the award with four of these from the Monaghan club which is a clear indicator of the talent currently within the club. Shane Maguire, Vincent McAree and Stephen Wright were all in contention with Stephen making it through to the last three. There were jubilant scenes as Daniel was announced as the overall winner with his prize including €50,000 worth of support for the 2013 season. Daniel is committed to competing in the British Rally Championship in 2013 which is a seven round championship starting in April and finishing in October. In an effort to raise further funds the DMK motorsport team have organised a draw with first prize offering the chance to navigate for Daniel on the upcoming Midlands rally in March. Tickets are available throughout Ireland with a list of tickets sellers on the DMK motorsport website.

There were also many other award winners from Monaghan at the Champions of Motorsport ceremony. Enda Sherry became the first Monaghan club member to win the Tarmac Rally Championship and along with his driver Darren Gass were recoginsied for their efforts. Arthur Kierans was presented with his Forestry Navigator champion award to round off another memorable year for the Aghabog man. Michael Carbin and Evin Hughes were also in attendance to collect their awards for the 11/12 National Night Navigation Championship.

January Navigation

Monaghan Motor Clubs January navigation has been postponed until further notice.


Monaghan Motor Clubs annual general meeting will be held on Friday night 25th January at 8.30 sharp. During the meeting the election of officers for 2013 will take place. All 2012 members are eligible to vote for the committee. Nomination forms are available on club website at http://www.monaghanmotorclub.net and must be returned to secretary before 22nd January. It is important that all club members attend as this is your chance to contribute to the running of our club going forward.


Monaghan Motor Club wish to extend their deepest sympathy to the family and friends of the late Jason McGovern. May he rest in peace


Comments are closed.