Moffett and O’Reilly to make WRC Debut

Posted: July 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

It was announced last week that Sam Moffett and James O’Reilly are to make their World Rally Championship debut at Rally Germany next month. The pair will compete in their Combilift Rallying Fiesta WRC. The pair have had a successful year so far in the Irish Tarmac Rally Championship and the National Rally Championship and are seeded at 23 for their maiden WRC voyage.


Good Result for the Wrights in Luxembourg

Stephen and Suzanne Wright travelled abroad last weekend to attack Rally Luxembourg in their Peugeot 208 R2 and the Monaghan pair had a successful event. The Wrights finished a fantastic 13th overall and 5th in the R2 class. They also netted 2nd in the 208 class. There was a few hiccups along the way however. A difference in the local rules to Irish regulations resulted in Stephen suffering a big time loss after a stage cancellation. The pair also lost 10 seconds having to stop at an accident on Day 2. Apart from that it was a good run for the pair. The next outing for Stephen will be the Ulster Rally next month. This event will also see Daniel McKenna continue his bid for British Rally Championship glory. Since it was announced recently that the final round of the BRC has been cancelled, so the Ulster Rally will become the second last round of the championship. The Moffett brothers will also continue their attack on the Irish Tarmac Rally Championship at this event.

Stephen and Suzanne Wright will return to the Belgian Rally Championship at the Tour of Flanders on the 5th of September


Mayo Motor Club Autocross

Congratulations to Martin Tynan who took victory in his Mitsubishi Evo in last weekends Mayo and District Motorsport Club Loose Surface Autocross event. Martin finished just under half a second ahead of second placed John McGettrick with a fastest time of 03:57.66. This result leaves Martin joint championship leader with Derek Deane going into the final round in approximately 4 weeks time.

Elsewhere Michael Conlon had a good day in his buggy with fourth overall and third in class 6 with a best time of 04:00.09. Derek Mackarel also had a good event in his Nova. Derek posted a fastest time of 04:09.59 and finished 10th overall and took the win in class 2. Derek still leads the national loose surface autocross championship after this event.


Monaghan Motor Club Endurance Trial

Monaghan Motor Club’s annual Endurance Trial will now take place on Sunday the 17th of August. Please note the date change and also if your available to marshal please make yourselves available to any committee member as soon as possible. More details to follow next week.


Comments are closed.