Moffett/Connolly Star on Donegal International

Posted: June 23, 2015 in Uncategorized

Richard Moffett & Martin Connolly were the stand out Monaghan performers on last weekend’s Donegal International Rally. The Ballinode men took class 13 honours and 7th overall in the National Rally. This was a great performance from this crew as Richard hasn’t competed on a rally since last October. In the International Rally, Conor Foley guided Martin Doherty to 8th overall and Group N honours in their Mitsubishi Lancer. Pauric Duffy & John Higgins finished just behind in a fine 9th overall in their Ford Fiesta R5. They also finished 2nd in class 5.

Stephen Thornton guided Tyrone’s Vivian Hamaill to 9th overall in the National Rally and 4th in class 14. They recovered from 83rd place at one point on Friday after suffering gear linkage problems. Anthony Hand/Peter Derry put in a storming drive to take 14th overall and 1st in class 11R. They were involved in a terrifice battle with local man Patrick Boyle and the Monaghan men came through to take the class by just over 30 seconds. David Moffett/James McCarville finished 18th overall and 6th in class 13. The pair put in a steady drive as David got back into the swing of things after his Cavan off. Raymond Conlon & Adrian Treanor finished 27th overall and 8th in class 13 in their Toyota Corolla. They could have finished higher but for a 2 min 30 seconds road penalty from Friday.

Michael Carbin & Emmet McCooey had a difficult event. They held 19th overall after Friday but dropped several minutes on the opening Saturday stage before retiring on stage 10. They rejoined the Rally under Rally 2 and set some good times on Sunday enrotue to 53rd overall and 5th in class.

Emmet Sherry guided Tommy O’Connell to 4th in the Historic Rally while Martin Swinburne/Gretchen Fegan took 4th overall in the Junior Rally.

Stephen Wright/Mickie Galvin had been leading the Monaghan crews until mechanical problems dropped them out on Saturday afternoon. They rejoined on Sunday only to retire on the final stage. Gary McPhillips/Paul Sheridan’s bid for three National wins in a row came to end after an accident on stage 7, thankfully with no injury to either occupant. John McQuaid/Stephen Hagan had been up to 9th overall in the National Rally until their retirmenet on stage 17. Brendan McDaid/Mac Kierans had climbed to 14th place until their stage 16 retirement. Gerard McQuaid/Gary Quinlan suffered a heart-breaking final stage retirement whilst holding 13th in the National Rally. Brendan McAree & JP McAree retired from the Historic Rally on stage 19.

Raven’s Rock Rally


The Triton Showers National Rally Championship resumes with the Waterford based Raven’s Rock Rally. Niall Maguire & Enda Sherry will be hoping to keep the pressure on championship leaders, Donagh Kelly & Kevin Flanagan. Damien Connolly is again teaming up with Peader Hurson and they will be hoping to repeat their Cavan Rally win. Michael Conlon & Ciaran McPhillips are amongst the leading two-wheel drive crews in their Mk2 Escort. Shane Maguire/Mac Kierans are seeded at No.24 in their Lancer and will be gunning for glory in Group N. Pauric Duffy is also competing and is seeded at No.28 in his Fiesta R5. David Moffett & Fintan Sherry continue their National campaign and start at No.31. Barry McKenna & Declan Tynan are seeded back at 69 in their Escort.

Upcoming events:

July 5th ALMC Stages Rally

July 12th Sligo Stages Rally

July 25th Cookstown Stages Rally


Comments are closed.