Monaghan Competitors Impress in Donegal

Posted: October 13, 2015 in Uncategorized

A strong contingent of Monaghan crews made their way to Donegal for the annual Harvest Stages Rally, which was based in Inishowen this year. The event was the final round of the Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship. Daniel McKenna navigated by Gordon Noble was the top Monaghan driver home securing 4th overall and 1st in class 14 driving Brendan Kelly’s Toyota AE86. David Moffett/Fintan Sherry finished 10th overall and 2nd in the ultra competitive class 13. Shane Maguire brought his Lancer home to 12th overall and 2nd in class 4 with Paul McLaughlin in the navigator’s seat. Pauric Duffy/Kevin Glynn finished just behind in 13th overall and 1st in class 5 in their Fiesta. Mark Tierney guided Brian Armstrong to 17th overall and 2nd in class 12.

Michael Carbin/Emmet McCooey finished 18th overall and 2nd in class 20, while Evin Hughes guided Rodney White to 23rd overall and 5th in class 13 in one of the few remaining Sunbeams. Barry McKenna/Emmet Sherry finished 27th overall and 6th in class 13, Johno Doogan/Ciaran Marron took 30th overall and 7th in class 13, while Barry & Jonathan Treanor secured 31st overall and 3rd in class 11R, all competing in Escorts. Declan Connolly/Alison Hughes finished 93rd overall and 8th in class 9 in their Civic. Martin Swinburne/Gretchen Fegan (Corolla) took overall honours in the Junior Rally securing them the class in the Border Championship.

Damien Connolly was once again navigating for Peadar Hurson in the Subaru. They held an impressive early lead before retiring on stage four. Gary McPhillips/Paul Sheridan held 2nd overall before their retirement on stage 8, rounding off a very disappointing year for this crew. Barry Treanor, Alison Hughes, Mark Tierney, Michael Carbin & Emmet McCooey and Martin Swinburne/Gretchen Fegan all secured their respective classes in the Border Championship.

Birr Endurance Trial


Evin Hughes made the trip from Donegal to Birr pay off as he guided Karl O’Donoghue to 3rd overall on Sunday’s Birr Endurance Trial. The event was won by Limerick crew Alan and George Shinnors in Starlet.

Isle of Mull Rally


Arthur Kierans was in the hotseat for Derek McGeehan on the Isle of Mull Rally in Scotland. Unfortunately they were early retirees. The event was subsequently abandoned following a fatal accident.


Comments are closed.