Duffy & Hughes Win Again in Donegal

Posted: January 25, 2016 in Uncategorized


Donegal Motor Club hosted round 3 of the Squealing Pig Border Navigation Championship on Saturday night last 23rd January. The Eamon Harvey Memorial Navigation Trial was run out of Milford with 70 miles on offer. Local competitors had reigned supreme on this event in recent years but it was the Longford/Monaghan duo of Pakie Duffy & Evin Hughes who took victory this year.


A tricky plot & bash section between TP14 and TP16 would be the deciding factor. Top seeds Paul Reid/Kevin Gallagher and Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan both picked up 20 penalties at TP15. Martin Tynan & Fintan Clerkin fresh from a 2nd place finish in Monaghan were in the lead at this point. However, a ‘herring bone tulip’ on plot & bash resulted in them dropping 10 penalties which demoted them to 2nd place. Pakie Duffy & Evin Hughes had a good run throughout to come home with a total of 14 penalties, which was good enough to secure overall honours and a second consecutive win following their success in Cork.


Martin Tynan & Fintan Clerkin secured 2nd place on 18 penalties. Paul Reid/Kevin Gallagher (29 pens) and Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan (31 pens) were next up with Semi-Expert class winners, Eoghan Corr/Ruadhri Nash completing the top five.


Aiden Sherry/Oisin Sherlock made it back-to-back wins in the Novice class followed closely home by fellow Monaghan men, Kevin McCormick & David McCrudden.


The next round of the Squealing Pig Border Championship is the Midland Navigation Trial on February 13th.



1st Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes (Subaru Impreza) 14 pens,

2nd Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin (Subaru Impreza) 18 pens,

3rd Paul Reid/Kevin Gallagher (Subaru Impreza) 29 pens,

4th Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan (Subaru Impreza) 31 pens,

5th Eoghan Corr/Ruadhri Nash (Subaru Impreza) 36 pens,

6th Brendan Friel/Ciaran Geaney (Subaru Impreza) 48 pens,

7th Dermot McGroary/Eamon Doherty (Subaru Impreza) 59 pens,

8th Macartan Kierans/Andrew Wedlock (Subaru Impreza) 96 pens,

9th Aiden Sherry/Oisin Sherlock (Subaru Impreza) 115 pens,

10th Kevin McCormick/David McCrudden (Subaru Impreza) 120 pens,



Comments are closed.