Maiden Win for Sligo Men

Posted: August 16, 2016 in Uncategorized


Sligo’s Patrick Corcoran & Art McCarrick (Starlet) took overall honours on last weekend’s Endurance Trial, based at the Four Seasons Hotel in Monaghan. After 23 demanding tests, Corcoran/McCarrick came out on top by just five seconds from Kieran McCarra/Darren McCague. (Colt). Regular Endurance competitor, Kevin O’Rourke/David Ray (Starlet) completed the top three 19 seconds off the winner. This was the Sligo pair’s first ever victory, following an impressive drive throughout the day.


COC Shane Maguire put together an excellent route including multiple new selectives which were universally praised by competitors. The opening loop of selectives contained tests at Monaghan Quarries, Latton Hut Cross and Wright’s Quarry as well as several private lanes. Cocoran/McCarrick were on a charge from the start and led after seven tests with McCarra/McCague and Karl O’Donoghue/Evin Hughes in pursuit. McCarra/McCague trimmed the gap slightly on the second loop as O’Donoghue/Hughes began to fall away. The remaining nine selectives were to the West and North of Monaghan town including Rally School Ireland. Cocoran/McCarrick continued to put in a faultless run maintaining their advantage from McCarra/McCague while Kevin O’Rourke/David Ray charged to 3rd after some impressive selective times. An impressive charge by McCarra over the last loop saw him close to gap to just five seconds by the finish with O’Rourke/Ray fourteen seconds further adrift. Karl O’Donoghue/Evin Hughes & Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin completed the top five in another brace of Starlets.


Class B went to Robert Howard/Andrew Stewart with Mark Reilly/Darragh Gibbons and Anthony McDonald/Adrian Foley completing the top three. Peter Farrell/Shane Farrell were comfortable winners in Class C with Mark Hamill/Darren Caulfield and David Dixon/Abraham Dixon completing the top three. Oisin Sherlock/Pamela McMahon won class A1 from Catherine Dancey/Robert Dancey while the aforementioned O’Donoghue/Hughes won class A2 from Tynan/Clerkin and Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan in 3rd.


Monaghan Endurance Trial Top Ten

 1.  P Corcoran/A McCarrick         Starlet        9:14

2.  D McCarra/D McCague            Colt             9:19

3.  K O Rourke/D Ray                      Starlet       9:33

4.  K O Donoghue/ E Hughes       Starlet        9:36

5.  M Tynan/ F Clerkin                   Starlet     10:05

6. P Farrell/ S Farrell                      Civic         10:36

7. R Howard/ A Stewart                 Starlet      10:54

8. M Tynan/ C Tynan                      Starlet      11:09

9. A Kierans/ J McKenna               Colt           11:16

10. G O Donoghue/ D Connolly   Starlet      11:28

Carbin Continues Pursuit of Forestry Glory       


Also on Sunday last, Cork Motor Club hosted Round 4 of the Irish Forestry Rally Championship. The popular Mallow-based event features some of the finest forestry stages in Ireland. Smithborough’s Michael Carbin and Darragh Kelly entered the event leading the Irish Forestry Championship and secured some useful points towards their championship campaign thanks to a 6th place finish on the day, 3rd amongst the registered championship crews.


Michael Conlon/Ciaran McPhillips also made the trip south and came home 12th overall and 3rd in class 13. Michaela McGinn navigated American-based Irishman Patsy Keenan to 25th overall. There was disappointment again for rising star, Derek Mackarel. He and navigator Daire Hayes were forced to retire their Nova on stage four. The championship resumes with the Enniskillen-based Lakelands Forestry rally in early September.




Comments are closed.