Moffett Wraps Up National Title in Sligo

Posted: July 11, 2017 in Uncategorized

Sam Moffett & Karl Atkinson have won the 2017 Triton National Rally Championship. The Monaghan/Cork pairing made it six wins out of six thanks to overall victory on the Sligo Stages Rally on Sunday last 9th July. The event was also a counting round of the Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship. With the best six rounds counting, Moffett/Atkinson’s total cannot be beaten even with two rounds remaining. It’s been a faultless year for the pair and they have dominated the National Championship right from the opening round.


Sligo attracted a healthy entry of over 100 crews for the nine stage event. Moffett/Atkinson were once again fastest on the opening stage, but the Donegal cousins, Declan & Brian Boyle, took the lead on stage two. The Boyle’s maintained a narrow lead before being sidelined on stage six. This left Moffett/Atkinson with a comfortable one minute lead over 2nd placed Desi Henry. The Fiesta pairing eased home over the final loop to secure their first National Rally title with maximum points.


Henry/Liam Moynihan finished 2nd overall on the day with former champion, Niall Maguire & Enda Sherry a strong 3rd. Josh Moffett/James Fulton took 4th overall in their R5 Fiesta with Brendan Cumiskey/Ronan O’Kane in 6th in their Skoda R5. Shane Maguire/Darragh Kelly took another Group N win and 9th overall in their Lancer. Michael Conlon/Ciaran McPhillips took class 13 honours and 13th overall. Conlon maintains his overall lead in the Border Championship.


Emmet Sherry guided Tommy O’Connell to 27th overall and 4th in class 13. Johnny Treanor with new navigator Damien Fleming, took overall victory in the Junior class which kept their championship hopes alive. Jason Black/Jack McKenna took 2nd place in their Starlet, also winning the Border Drive of the Day award.


Seamus Connolly/Gary McCrudden retired on the opening loop as did Gary Cassidy/Paul Kelly & Michael Brennan/Ryan Brennan.



Monaghan Autocross


The next event in the Monaghan Motor Club calendar is the annual Autocross, which is scheduled for Sunday 30th July. Clerk of the Course is Shane Maguire and the venue is the Hut Cross track at Latton, courtesy of Cavan Motor Club. Event regulations will be available for download on



Comments are closed.