Mackarel/McGorman Take Endurance Honours

Posted: August 15, 2017 in Uncategorized

Derek Mackarel & Kieran McGorman took overall victory on last weekend’s Endurance Trial, based at the Four Seasons Hotel in Monaghan. The West Monaghan pairing took a convincing victory with Mackarel fending off rivals, Martin Tynan & Fintan Clerkin by 50 seconds. COC Fintan Keenan organised a challenging route including many popular selectives such as Hut Cross, McNally’s Treanor’s, Wright’s and Sherlock’s. The popularity of this event was evident in a total of 41 crews taking part, a record for this event.

The morning loop of selectives were to the North of Monaghan town. Top seeds Karl O’Donoghue/Evin Hughes dropped out of contention by missing the opening code board, incurring a one minute penalty. Kevin McCormack/David McCrudden, thanks to some local knowledge, were surprise early leaders with Derek Mackarel/Kieran McGorman and Gary Cassidy/Tara McMeel in close pursuit. Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan were on the pace but had also missed the code board on the first selective dropping them down the order.

By the lunch halt, Mackarel/McGorman had taken the lead and were 9 seconds clear of Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin. Endurance regulars, Kevin O’Rourke/Dave McAuley were in 3rd. Early leaders, McCormack/McCrudden dropped back after incurring a 40 second road penalty.

The afternoon loop consisted of seven selectives south of Monaghan town repeated twice. Mackarel/McGorman stretched their lead significantly over this loop and despite losing 12 seconds in Wright’s Quarry had opened up a 26 second lead over Tynan/Clerkin. They continued to press home their advantage, eventually finishing 49 seconds clear. Sligo driver Patrick Corcoran, navigated by his father, Joe, took 3rd overall, 1 minute 17 seconds off the leaders. O’Rourke/McAuley dropped from 3rd to 5th thanks to a road penalty.

Ryan & Caolan Treanor took class 1A honours in their Toyota Yaris. O’Donoghue/Hughes recovered from their penalty to take class A2 and 4th overall. Mark Reilly/Daragh Gibbons won Class B. Shane Farrell/Peter Farrell swapped seats for this event, with Shane bringing the family Civic to Class C honours. Andy Mackarel/Richard Cassidy won Class E in their Ascona. They were also 2nd fastest crew outright on times during the day.

COC Fintan Keenan would like thank all residents and landowners for the use of their property, the Four Seasons Hotel for sponsoring the event and all marshals who turned out to man the selectives.


Comments are closed.