Connolly Conquers in Donegal

Posted: October 10, 2017 in Uncategorized

Damien Connolly was back on the winner’s podium as he guided Peader Hurson to overall victory on last weekend’s Donegal Harvest Rally. The Warrenpoint/Scotstown duo back up their win in Galway with a comfortable victory on the Dunfanaghy based event. After nine demanding stages, they were over a minute clear of the opposition. 

The event was the final round of the Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship. Michael Conlon had already won the overall driver category and another Monaghan man was to secure the navigators title. Darragh Kelly guided Shane Maguire to Group N honour and 6th overall. This result was enough for Darragh to win the navigators section ahead of Conlon’s navigator, Ciaran McPhillips. Conlon/McPhillips did their best but 9th overall and 2nd in class meant McPhillips had to be content with 2nd navigator in the championship.
Paul Sheridan guided Martin Doherty to 20th overall and 5th in class. Kaine Treanor guided Colin Quirk to 21st overall and 1st in class 5. Seamus Connolly/Gary McCrudden finished 34th overall and 5th in class. Michael Carbin/Conor Mohan finished under Rally 2 rules in 61st overall and 3rd in class. Conor Foley guided Eamon Kelly to 63rd overall and 1st in class. Michael Brennan/Ryan Brennan failed to finish.

Birr Endurance Trial

Evin Hughes guided Castleknock’s Karl O’Donoghue to overall victory on last weekend’s Birr Endurance Trial. The event featured high quality selectives including forest tracks, grassy lanes, private farms and even mountain tracks. Ryan & Caolan Treanor also made the trip down and were rewarded with a class win in their Toyota Yaris.

2017 Awards Night

The annual Monaghan Motor Club Dinner Dance and Prizegiving takes place on Saturday night 21st October in the Four Seasons Hotel. 2017 was another tremendous year for the club and its members. Sam Moffett became the first person in history to win the Irish Tarmac, National and Forestry Championships in the one season. His brother Josh impressed in the European Rally Championship. Closer to home Michael Conlon/Darragh Kelly won the Border Rally Championship with Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes doing the double in the National & Border Navigation Championships. Derek Mackarel/Muireann Hayes won the Munster Navigation Championship.
Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin won the Gary Nesbitt Club Navigation Championship with Martin wrapping up the Trader’s Trophy as Overall Club Champion for the second year in succession. Tickets are available from committee members.


Comments are closed.