Champions Honoured in Monaghan

Posted: December 19, 2017 in Uncategorized

Last Friday night, saw Monaghan Motor Club hold their Night of Champions event in the Four Seasons Hotel.

The night was to commemorate the achievements of some of our club competitors in 2017.

Sam Moffett won the Irish Tarmac, National and Forestry Rally Championships in a remarkable year becoming the first competitors to win the ‘treble’ in the same year. Sam also won the Celtic Rally Trophy.

Michael Conlon won the Border Rally Championship and along with navigator Ciaran McPhillips they also took the Mk2 and 2 wheel drive trophies in the National Rally Championship.

Shane Maguire won the West Coast Rally Championship while Darragh Kelly was the winning navigator in the Border Rally Championship.

Evin Hughes secured a third successive National Navigation Championship title and another Border Navigation Championship while

Derek Mackarel was the Munster Navigation Champion.

Martin Tynan was the 2017 Trader’s Champion.

The night was well received by those in attendance with MC Noel Hall completing interviews with the champions on their successes and plans for 2018. There was also a DVD provided by Flyin Finn Motorsport on our club members in 2017. Some of those in attendance included Martin McKenna, President Motorsport Ireland and Paude Connolly and David Maxwell from Monaghan County Council. All praised the club and its champions on their incredible successes in 2017.


Comments are closed.