Moffett Conquers Cavan

Posted: May 28, 2018 in Uncategorized

Josh Moffett reignited his National Championship bid with overall victory on the Cavan Stages Rally.

The event was the third round of the series and Moffett and co-driver, Keith Moriarty, dominated to claim their first win of the year. Monaghan men were also in the navigator’s seat of the second and third place crews with James O’Reilly guiding Declan to 2nd overall and Enda Sherry guiding Darren Gass to 3rd overall.

Moffett/Moriarty laid down a marker on the opening test pulling five seconds off championship leaders Declan Boyle/James O’Reilly. Stage 2 was cancelled due to timing issues so the action resumed on stage three where Moffett increased his advantage to eight seconds despite reporting a spin. Roy White/James O’Brien held 3rd but were already 20 seconds back. Donagh Kelly/Conor Foley were acclimatising to a new Ford Fiesta and were off their usual pace while Darren Gass/Enda Sherry were getting up to speed after a long layoff.

Although Boyle was fastest on stage four, Moffett was quickest on stage five with White going fastest on stage six. All of this left, Moffett in a 24.1 second lead with White having climbed to 2nd and Boyle dropping to 3rd after losing over 20 seconds on stage six. Peader Hurson/Damien Connolly dropped out of a top six place with a broken rear differential.

Moffett/Moriarty turned in another brace of fastest times to take a commanding win 34.6 seconds clear of Declan Boyle/James O’Reilly. White’s challenge came to an end after he lost five minutes with a puncture on stage 7. Darren Gass/Enda Sherry increased their speed over the closing stage to seal 3rd place which was ideal preparation for the Donegal International. Donagh Kelly/Conor Foley climbed to 5th place by the finish as they got a handle on their new car.

As a local event to most of our club members, there was plenty of local success in the various classes. Seamus Connolly/Gary McCrudden put in a storming drive to take 15th overall and victory in class 11R in their Corolla. Martin Swinburne/Gretchen Fegan took 21st overall and 3rd in class in their similar car. Martin Tynan & Declan Tynan won class 15 and finished 26th overall. Aisling McArdle guided Des Lyons to 3rd in class 11F. Justin Smyth/Gregory McQuillan, John McQuaid/Thomas Treanor, John McCabe/Kaine Treanor and Eamon Kelly/Conor Mohan had to resort to Rally 2 to complete the event.

Jason Black/Jack McKenna took another dominant win in the Junior class with Gareth Black/Calum Maguire in 3rd and Oisin Sherlock guiding Sean McConnell to 8th in class.

Retirements included, Peader Hurson/Damien Connolly, Raymond Conlon/Damien Fleming, Paul Clarke/Conor Boylan, Gerard McQuaid/Gary Quinlan, James McCarville/Paddy McCrudden, Sean McCaul/Frank Clerkin and Patrick Fitzpatick/James McEneaney.



Comments are closed.