Moffett Cracks Cavan

Posted: May 28, 2019 in Uncategorized


Sam Moffett & James Fulton claimed overall honours on last weekend’s Cavan Stages Rally. The Monaghan-Cavan duo led the event from start to finish in their Fiesta WRC taking the win by 44 seconds from Declan & Brian Boyle’s similar car. 3rd overall went to Desi Henry/Paddy Robinson who were debuting another Fiesta WRC,

Moffett/Fulton immediately set the pace on the opening stage despite having not been behind the wheel of the WRC spec Fiesta since 2017. Boyle did trim a few second back on stage three but by first service Moffett/Fulton held a 9.3 second lead. Another front runner Gary Jennings retired his Subaru WRC leaving Henry/Robinson in 3rd as they got used to their new machine. Forestry front runner Cathan McCourt/Barry McNulty switched surface and car for this event and they held 4th in a Subaru while another new car was being piloted by Joseph McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney who held 5th. Scotland’s David Bogie/John Rowan led the two wheel drive category.

After Boyle shaved another few seconds off Moffett on stage four, Moffett turned the tide on stage five by going a full 12 seconds faster and added another two seconds on stage six. His lead was further increased after Boyle picked up a 30 second road penalty. Henry, McCourt and McGonigle maintained places while local man Gary Kieran moved into the two wheel drive lead.

The final loop saw Moffett ease home to victory giving his navigator Fulton a win on his home event. The only change in the top five saw McGonigle pass McCourt for 4th on the final stage after the latter hit problems. Gary Kiernan was the two wheel drive category winner in 6th place while Aiden Wray won Group N.

Monaghan crews featured throughout the leaderboard. Johno Doogan/Ciaran Marron finished 9th overall and 2nd in class 14. They pipped Michael Conlon/Ciaran McPhillips by just 0.3 of a second. Australian based Pauric Duffy & Kevin Glynn finished 12th overall in their Fiesta. Mac Kierans guided Michael Boyle to 14th overall and 2nd in Group N. David Moffett/Martin Connolly finished 16th overall and 3rd in class 13.

Martin McPhillips/Ciaran Tynan took 23rd overall and 4th in class. Conor Mohan guided Eamon Kelly to 34th overall and 2nd in class 2. Sean McCaul/Frank Clerkin were 43rd overall and 3rd in class 12. Cathal Sheridan & Peter Deery took 48th overall and 4th in class 10.

Retirements included Gary McPhillips/Adam Murray, Jack Maguire/Keith McConnan, Peter Farrell/Ryan Farrell, Martin Tynan/Declan Tynan and Nigel Brennan/Ryan Brennan.

Sherlock guides Butler to Tipp Triumph

Derek Butler & Oisin Sherlock took overall victory on last weekend’s Tipperary Endurance Trial. The pair emerged victorious by 17 seconds after 19 superb selectives in the Mid-Tipperary area. Elsewhere, Robert Graham & Ryan Treanor had a superb run to 4th overall and 1st in the Novice class. Mechanical problems dropped Karl O’Donoghue/Evin Hughes to 13th overall. Dylan Lennon/Sheldon Zuppa were 4th in class and 16th overall. Emmet Sherry/Alecia Fox came home 20th overall. Noel Sherry/Emmet McCooey took 3rd in their class. Mark Hertherington/John Hetherington took 2nd in class A1.  Cathal Croarkin/Marco Lennon came home 8th in class B.


Comments are closed.