Josh Moffett is National Rally Champion

Posted: August 27, 2019 in Uncategorized

Clontibret’s Josh Moffett and his Wexford co-driver Andy Hayes in a Ford Fiesta WRC won the Triton Showers National Rally Championship courtesy of their start to finish victory in the Galway Summer Rally, the penultimate round of the series that was based in Gort on Sunday last 25th August.

They finished 37.2 seconds ahead of the Fiesta R5 of Tyrone’s Cathan McCourt and his Cork co-driver Grace O’Brien with Maynooth’s Ian Barrett and co-driver Paul McGee (Subaru WRC) 49.8 seconds further behind in third.

Moffett was quickest through the opening stage where his one and only rival for the Triton title, Roy White retired his Ford Fiesta WRC at the stage finish with a broken transfer box. Moffett was also quickest through the remaining two stages of the first loop and arrived at the Gort service with a lead of 30.6 seconds. Ballinode’s Niall Maguire (Subaru WRC), with James O’Reilly on board, was untroubled in 5th place, while Shane Maguire (Mitsubishi) remained on course to win the Motorsport Safety Group N award.

Moffett powered his way through the second loop and even though Barrett was quickest on S.S. 6, Moffett stretched his overall lead over McCourt to 39.1 seconds with Barrett 33.1 seconds further adrift in third. Niall Maguire and Shane Maguire remained trouble free within the top ten.

Moffett went on to secure victory, his sixth win from the seven rounds to date and that was more than enough to clinch the Triton title and the Vard Memorial Trophy. His victory in the Triton series completed a notable treble as he has previously won the Irish Tarmac and Irish Forestry Championships.

Ballinode’s Shane Maguire/Conor Foley (Mitsubishi), finished eighth overall and won Group N and clinched the Motorsport Safety Team Group N award. Other Monaghan finishers were Sean McCaul/Frank Clerkin 5th in class 12 and Peter and Shane Farrell who were the class 10 winners in their Corolla.

Galway Summer Rally Top Ten

1. Josh Moffett/Andy Hayes (Ford Fiesta WRC) 1h. 03m. 17.9s.
2. Cathan McCourt/Grace O’Brien (Ford Fiesta R5) 1h. 03m. 55.1s.
3. Ian Barrett/Paul McGee (Subaru WRC) 1h. 04m. 44.9s.
4. Gary Kiernan/Ryan Moore (Ford Escort) 1h. 05m. 11.8s.
5. Hugh Hunter/Rob Fagg (Ford Focus WRC) 1h. 05m. 21.9s.
6. Niall Maguire/James O’Reilly (Subaru WRC) 1h. 05m. 29.1s.
7. Steve Wood/Keith Moriarty (Ford Fiesta WRC) 1h. 06m.25.4s.
8. Shane Maguire/Conor Foley (Mitsubishi EvoIX) 1h. 07m. 26.9s.
9. Frank Kelly/Sean Hayde (Ford Escort) 1h. 07m. 28.9s.
10. JF Shovelin/Emmet Brosnan (Ford Escort) 1h. 07m. 32.1s.

McKenna Continues to Shine
New York-based Monaghan driver Barry McKenna continued to ‘set the roads alight’ in Minnesota last weekend on the Ojibwe Forests rally. Navigated by James Fulton, the pair finished a splendid 2nd Overall, beaten only by David Higgins in a works Subaru.
Navigation Classes
Monaghan Motor Club will start its Navigation Trial classes this Friday 30th August. If you have an interest in Motorsport, then Navigation Trials are the best form of obtaining the correct ‘foundation’ for this sport. The scheduled classes will cover the full range of topics including map reading, timing, car regulations for both Navigation and Endurance Trials and will also include a session on pace notes for stages rallies.

The classes will start at 8pm in the Sean McDermotts GFC complex in Threemilehouse. Registration will also include club membership, maps, romer, and all necessary paperwork to complete the 6 week course.

All those interested should contact Shane on 0862616120 to book your place.


Comments are closed.