Foley top Monaghan Man in Donegal

Posted: October 14, 2019 in Uncategorized

Conor Foley was the top finishing local competitor on last weekend’s Donegal Harvest Rally. The Redcastle based event was the final round of the Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship. The Derry crew of Callum Devine & Brian Hoy took overall victory in their R5 Fiesta. They were involved in a close battle with Josh Moffett & Andy Hayes who were debuting a R5 VW Polo. Late problems dropped them to 4th allowing Donagh Kelly & Conor Foley into 2nd place in another Polo.

National Rally Champions, Moffett/Hayes finished in 4th place. Raymond Conlon/Damien Fleming finished 12th overall and took victory in class 13. Damien McKenna guided Shaun Murphy to 33rd overall and 7th in class. Mickey Brennan/Paddy McCague took victory in class 10 in their Nova coming home in 46th place overall. Aisling McArdle guided Des Lyons to 49th overall and 7th in class 11F. Patrick Fitzpatrick/James McEneaney took 53rd overall and victory in class 9. Ryan & Nigel Brennan finished 65th overall and 3rd in class 1. Ryan Treanor/Robert Graham had to resort to Rally 2 after retiring and came home in 83rd overall.

Gary Cassidy/Paul Kelly, Jack Maguire/Stephen McElroy, Sean McCaul/Frank Clerkin, Gerry McGivney/Gavin McGivney & Christopher Brennan/Martin Hughes failed to finish.

Cork Navigation Trial

The 2019-20 National Night Navigation Championship commenced last weekend with Cork Motor Club’s Star-Trek Navigation Trial based in Inchigeelagh. Local crew James Fitzgerald/Ken Carmody survived the 110 mile route to emerge victorious on 17 penalties. Top Monaghan performers were Derek Mackarel/Conor Boylan who finished 3rd overall on 30 penalties. James McCabe/Shane Farrell finished a fine 6th overall and won the Semi-Expert class on 150 penalties total. Experts, Richard Cassidy/Conor Maguire finished 7th overall in their Vectra. Conor’s son Shane finished just 1 penalty behind him as he and driver Ray O’Neill took 8th overall and Novice class honours. A tough night for Francis McElvaney/Oisin Sherlock who will hope for better on future rounds.

2019 Club Championship Awards Night

The 2019 Club Awards Night takes place on Saturday 19th October in the Four Seasons Hotel in Monaghan. Ciaran Tynan clinched the Traders Trophy for the first time after three event wins and consistently steady results across the year. The event will be a celebration of Monaghan success stories during the year including Josh Moffett winning the National Rally Championship. Tickets are available from committee members for a cost of €25 and club members are asked to support this event as we celebrate the achievements of our mem


Comments are closed.