Moffett Leading Monaghan Man in Galway

Posted: February 4, 2020 in Uncategorized

Sam Moffett was the leading Monaghan finisher on last weekend’s Galway International Rally which was round 1 of the Irish Tarmac Rally Championship. The 9 stage event attracted a small entry but there was no lack of quality at the top.

Sam & co-driver, James Fulton, finished a fine 2nd overall on their first event in a Hyundai R5.

The pair finished 21 seconds behind event winner Alastair Fisher/Gordon Noble in a VW Polo. 3rd overall went to Donagh Kelly & Ballinode’s Conor Foley in another VW Polo. The pair were a scant 1.7 seconds behind Moffett.

Over the opening loop of stages Fisher/Noble built an impressive lead. Behind them, there was an intense battle for 2nd place with 14 seconds covering five crews. Leading the charge was Kelly/Foley while Josh Moffett/Keith Moriarty lost time on Stage 3 in their Hyundai. On the second loop, Fisher maintained his lead at 22 seconds with Sam Moffett moving into 2nd place 0.8 seconds ahead of Kelly/Foley. Josh Moffett/Keith Moriarty held 5th with Stephen Wright/Liam Moynihan in 6th place.

Kelly/Foley and Moffett/Fulton swapped place again on Stage 7 before a determined run from Moffett/Fulton on the final Black Road stage saw him take two seconds off Kelly/Foley to clinch 2nd place. The overall results are still provisional due to a post event scrutiny issue for Moffett/Fulton. Moffett/Moriarty finished a subdued 5th behind Welshman Merion Evans. Stephen Wright/Liam Moynihan brought their Fiesta R5 to a solid 6th overall. Martin Connolly guided William Mavitty to 10th overall in their Lancer while Eamon Kelly/Conor Mohan took the class RC2 win and 12th overall.

In the National Rally, Aisling McArdle guided Des Lyons to 13th overall and a class win. The Irish Tarmac Championship continues with the West Cork Rally in March.

Galway International Rally Provisional Results:

1st Alaister Fisher/Gordon Noble (Volkswagen Polo R5)

2nd Sam Moffett/James Fulton (Hyundai I20 R5)

3rd Donagh Kelly/Conor Foley (Volkswagen Polo R5)

4th Meirion Evans/Jonathan Jacob (Volkswagen Polo R5)

5th Josh Moffett/Keith Moriarty (Hyundai I20 R5)

6th Stephen Wright/Liam Moynihan (Ford Fiesta R5)

7th Cathan McCourt/Barry McNulty (Ford Fiesta R5)

8th Declan McCrory/Stephen O’Hanlon (Ford Fiesta R5)

9th Paul Barrett/Kevin Reilly (Ford Fiesta R5)

10th William Mavitty/Martin Connolly (Mitsubishi Evo9)


Comments are closed.