Conlon/McPhillips top local finishers in Carrick-on-Suir

Posted: April 11, 2022 in Uncategorized

Mickey Conlon and Paul McPhillips finished 6th overall and 2nd two wheel drive at last weekend’s Willie Loughman Forest Rally. The pair battled it out over the six stage event against John Gordon/Ben Taggart for 2wd honours. Conlon/McPhillips did hold the lead from SS3 to SS5, despite losing time over the middle stage in each loop, struggling with a lack of grip, to go into the final stage with a 0.8 second advantage. However, a big push from Gordan/Taggart seen them emerge victorious by 5.2s.

The rally itself was won by Patrick O’Brien/Stephen O’Brien in their Skoda Fabia R5. Jordon Hone/Paul Hone finished 2nd in their Ford Fiesta R5 and in 3rd was Keith Power/Donal Balfe in another Fiesta R5.

Paul Kelly navigated David Condell to 10th OA and 3rd in class 14. Brendan Cumiskey/Martin Connolly finished 11th OA and 1st class 2. Conor Boylan navigating for Adam Semple in a G3 Escort finished 2nd in class 11R.

Derek Mackarel/Eamonn Creedon failed to make the finish, retiring on SS4 with a broken diff while sitting 4th OA and 1st in class 20. Steven Corey/Ella Ryan retired after SS1 while 4th in class 14. Tommy Moffett/Gary McCudden retired after SS2 in their Toyota Aygo.

Four Seasons Hotel Ronnie Hawe Monaghan Stages Rally

Sunday marked the launch of Monaghan Motor Club’s stages rally 2022. The launch also marked the rebranding of the event, The ‘Ronnie Hawe Monaghan Stages Rally’ Sponsored by the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan. A large crowd turned out for the launch and Sean McCaffery interviewed drivers, Sam and Josh Moffett, Gary McPhillips, Dessie Keenan, Gary Cassidy, Jack McKenna and navigators Oisín Sherlock and Damien Connolly. Rev Charles McCollum spoke about the great work Ronnie carried out and the effort he put into the stages rally year in year out. Finally, the much anticipated raffle was held. Ciaran Tynan won the free entry to the rally, Conor Curley won the voucher towards an incar camera and Damien Reilly won the voucher towards pace notes. The rally takes place on Sunday 24th April.

PRO: Oisín Sherlock


Comments are closed.