Enjoyable Day at Monaghan MC Autotest

Posted: February 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

Co. Monaghan Motor club in association with the Northern Standard held their annual club autotest on Sunday last. Once again Wrights Quarry at Swanns Cross was the ideal venue and CoC Brendan Flynn set out some difficult and demanding tests for the 21 starters in the Hewison Autotest championship. Bright and sunny weather conditions made for an enjoyable day on the smooth concrete surfaced tests. Paddy Power proved the man to beat in his mini moke, taking a 6 second win from Daniel Byrne after 12 complex tests.  Mark King had a great run throughout the day to take 3rd overall in a nova and win class D.

            JJ Farrell was winner of class B with Timmy Lynch the class C winner in his immaculate westfield. Last years winner Steven Ferguson had to settle for 13th overall on the day despite 7 fastest test times as he hit trouble over the final three tests to drop back down the leader board. Nevertheless Stephen has won the 2012/13 hewison Autotest championship for the second successive year.

            Once again, well done to all the award winners and to Coc Brendan for a well run event. Brendan would like to take the opportunity to thank all hewison and club members for their support. Monaghan Motor Club are pleased again this year to have received sponsorship from our local newspaper “The Northern Standard”. Our thanks to Cathal Smith and his staff for their support.

To David Wright of Wrights Quarry for the use of his premises, which is popular with all the competitors. Brendan would also like to thank the many marshals and time keepers who turned up on the day, it may have been dry and sunny overhead but it was a cold day to be standing around nonetheless. Also a big thank you to Cora and all her little helpers for the much needed soup and sandwich’s, they were much appreciated! Thanks also to anyone else who helped out in any way prior to and on the day of the event. 


Monaghan MC Autotest Top 12

1 Paddy Power (Mini Moke) 645.5s

2 Daniel Byrne (Mini) 651.7s

3 Mark King (Nova) 653.0s

4 Norman Ferguson (Mini) 653.4s

5 David Thompson (Nova) 658.4s

6 J J Farrell (Mini) 663.3s

7 Robin Lyons (Mini) 665.0s

8 Guy Foster (Mini) 667.1s

9 Chris Grimes (Mini) 667.1s

10 Timmy Lynch (Westfield) 693.4s

11 Paul Phelan (Mini Special) 694.7s

12 Darren Quille (Westfield) 699.1s


Mixed fortunes Monaghan Crews at Donegal Mini Stages Rally

Local Donegal men Martin Doherty and Damien McCauley won Donegal Motor Clubs mini stages rally on Sunday last, based in the picturesque town of Ballyliffin. This event had 66 starters tackle the Malin Head and Coolcross tests which are classic Donegal stages. Doherty/McCauley were fastest on all 6 stages to take the win by just over a minute from Daniel Barry and Gordan Noble, both in Evo’s. Daniel and Michael Doherty were 3rd overall, and claimed the highly competitive two wheel drive honours by 9 seconds. Patrick Mc Hugh and Pauric O’Donnell were 4th overall and class 13 winners. Joe McGonigle and Ciaran Geaney rounded off the top 5 and a class 7 win in their Clio R3 maxi.

            Monaghan men Raymond Conlon and Darren McCague had a great run through the Hills of Donegal and were up to 4th overall after 2 stages, eventually finishing 6th overall and 2nd in class 13. Arthur and Mac Kierans got their 2013 rally season off to a good start in the class 12 escort with 7th overall and a class win to boot. Barry Mc Kenna and Emmett Sherry had a 9th fastest stage time on the opening test but undid all the their good work on the second stage when the escort failed to slow enough for a square right and slid off, dropping over 4 minutes to their class rivals. Nevertheless they battled on and set some good times to climb back up to 30th overall.

            Late entrants, Richard Moffatt and Martin Connolly had a good start and were up to 8th overall after 2 stages but unfortunately gearbox gremlins set in and they failed to finish the middle loop in the starlet.


Donegal MC Mini Stages Top 10

1 Martin Doherty/Damien McCauley (Lancer Evo 9) 48m 11s

2 Danny Barry/Gordon Noble (Lancer Evo 10) 49m 12s

3 Daniel Doherty/Michael Doherty (Escort) 50m 18s

4 Patrick McHugh/Pauric O’Donnell (Escort) 50m 27s

5 Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Clio R3 Maxi) 50m 37s

6 Raymond Conlon/Darren McCauge (Corolla) 50m 46s

7 Conor Watters/Gerry Hughes (Escort) 51m 08s

8 Arthur Kierans/Mac Kierans (Escort) 51m 17s

9 John Ward/Gary McNern (Corolla) 51m 18s

10 Gary McElhinney/Paddy McCrudden (Escort) 51m 23s


Comments are closed.