Omagh Rally success for Club members

Posted: February 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

McNulty and Sheridan success on Spring Rally

            Coalislands’ Enda McNulty with Scotstown man Paul Sheridan claimed their maiden win on the Omagh MC Fivemiletown Spring Rally after many years of trying on Saturday last. This longstanding partnership never looked back after gaining top spot with an impressive 7 second stage win on the second stage. Gareth Sayers was their nearest rival throughout the day but had to settle for 2nd o/a. Shane McGirr and Jackie Elliott were 3rd overall in the super quick starlet, and lifting the two wheel drive honours.

Frank Kelly traded his baby blue escort for an EVO on this event as he was without an engine and put up some great times in an unfamiliar car and was up to 3rd overall on stage 5 but a soft roll put an end to his charge. Gregory McDaid with Monaghan’s Stephen Tierney on the notes were 23rd overall and 3rd class 5 in a nova.

Daniel McKenna and Arthur Kierans were sporting their new fiesta in Fivemiletown, ahead of the impending British Rally Championship but it was a day to forget with retirement on the second stage with cam shaft sensor failure. Upcoming Cavan navigation CoC Thomas Wedlock was on the notes for Sean McAuley in a nova but they also failed to finish while lying 2nd in class after 3 stages.

Cousins on the Boyle in Abbeyleix

Donegal cousins, Declan and Brian Boyle (Subaru WRC) took victory in the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel Birr Stages Rally that marked the beginning of the Dunlop National Rally Championship on Sunday last. At the conclusion of the eight stage rally, they finished 34.8 seconds ahead of the similar Subaru of Welshman, Mel Evans and his Limerick co-driver, Sean Mullally. Wexford’s, James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90) were a further 19.1 seconds behind in third and won the Dunlop” Drive of the Day” award.

Monaghan’s Niall Maguire and Enda Sherry had a number of mechanical issues over the first four stages but recovered to take fourth overall and a valuable points haul on the opening round of this years championship. It was a great day for the Monaghan crews in the group N class as once again the Moffett brothers stole the show. After a battle royale throughout the day it was Sam Moffett and James O’Reilly who took an 11 second victory and 9th overall over younger brother Josh Moffett and John Rowan in 10th o/a, both in EVO 9’s.

Brother and sister team of Stephen and Susanne Wright were on the pace throughout the day but a turbo problem on stage 6 dropped them back to 5th in group N. Eugene Meegan and Brian Sharkey were setting top times in group N but unfortunately road penalties put them back to 6th in class. Barry Ryan and Tydavnets Emmet Sherry teamed up once again and put in a super performance to claim the class 11 honours and 18th overall. Jim McKenna/Thomas Treanor were on the ball throughout the day and setting top times in the highly competitive class 14, but eventually had to settle for the runner up spot and 20th overall, just 6 seconds behind class winner Rodney Wilton.

Shane Maguire and Martin McGarrity had to settle for 7th in group N and 21st overall. Paddy Kiernan and James McCarville put in a steady performance over the 8 stages and claimed 3rd in class 13 in their immaculate escort. Liam Bowhan with Damien Connolly on the notes once again finished 7th in the highly competitive class 13 in their starlet. Conor Foley and Damien McKenna returned to the stages after a two year layoff and claimed the runner up spot in class 12.

There was hard luck for Michael Carbin and Evin Hughes when their event ended on stage 1 in the new EVO 4.  Seamus Connolly and Gary McCrudden recent run of bad luck continued in Birr as they also failed to make the finish.

Donegal MC Mini Stages Top 10

1 Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle (Impreza WRC) 55m 50s

2 Melvyn Evans/Sean Mullally (Impreza WRC) 56m 25s

3 James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90 GTR) 56m 44s

4 Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC) 57m 25s

5 Kevin Kelleher/Martin Kelleher (Impreza WRC) 57m 27s

6 Roy White/James O’Brien (Rover S2000) 57m 43s

7 Steve Simpson/Patrick Walsh (Impreza WRC) 57m 56s

8 James Belton/Mark Glennerster (Impreza WRC) 58m 18s

9 Sam Moffett/James O’Reilly (Lancer Evo 9 Gp N)58m 34s

10 Josh Moffett/John Rowan (Lancer Evo 9 Gp N) 58m 45s

Motorsport Safety Team Group N Production class:

1 Sam Moffett/James O’Reilly

2 Josh Moffett/John Rowan

3 Danny Barry/Gordon Noble (Lancer Evo 10) 59m 04s

Rally.ieTwo wheel drive award:

1James Stafford/Amy Ryan

Dunlop National Escort Mk 2 award:

1 Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne 59m 34s


Upcoming Events

Cavan motor club run their annual night navigation trial this Saturday, 2nd March. Thomas Wedlock is CoC and the event is based in Gallonreagh House, Maudabawn. Munster forestry stages Rally this Sunday 3rd March. Ciaran Tynan is CoC for the upcoming Monaghan Night navigation Trial on 9th March based in Newbliss. This is the final round of both the National and Squealing Pig Border Navigation championships and as always there are up on 50 marshals required so if your available please text Ciaran on 0877827918. Mayo Stages Rally kick starts the Sligo Pallets Border Rally championship on Sunday 10th March. Draw for Daniel McKenna BRC fundraiser will take place this Sunday night, 2nd March in Connolly’s, Scotshouse. An enjoyable night of music and banter is guaranteed with MC on the night Sean McCaffery. Proceedings start at 8pm. Tickets are still available.


Comments are closed.