Monaghan Crews dominate Group N in Tipperary

Posted: August 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

Boyles are Dunlop Tarmac Champions


Declan and Brian Boyle confirmed their status as Dunlop National Rally champions for 2013 on Sunday last on Tipperary Motor Clubs Stonethrowers Rally. The Donegal men had a commanding lead prior to the event with Monaghan’s Niall Maguire and Enda Sherry their closest rivals. Unfortunately Maguire/Sherry failed to finish which confirmed the Donegal cousins as National Champions. Indeed they took a convincing win by almost 2 minutes from Roy White in the MG Rover. Welsh man James Belton rounded off the top three.

            Declan Gallagher and Ryan Moore had an outstanding drive through the Tipperary countryside to take fifth overall and the top two wheel drive honours in the blistering white starlet. As with most events this year it was the travelling Monaghan contingent who dominated the Group N production class. Only 29 seconds separated the top three with Sam Moffett and James O’Reilly coming out on tops on this occasion, ahead of younger brother Josh Moffett and James Rowan. Stephen and Suzanne Wright had to settle for 3rd on this occasion but keep there title hopes very much alive. Eugene Meggan rounded off the top 10 and 4th in group N while Liam Bowhan and Damian Connolly took their starlet home to 11th overall and 2nd in class 13. Barry Mc Kenna and Martin Connolly also had a great run to finish 18th overall and 3rd in class 13 in the New Holland/Mc Kenna Agri backed escort.

            David Smyth and Mark Derry were as consistent as ever to finish 2nd in class 11R and 28th overall, a valuable points haul towards their championship hopes. Cavan’s Jonathan Pringle failed to finish whilst lying inside the top 10 after stage 5, as did Jack Maguire who was 15th after the first stage in his class 20 EVO.



Tipperary MC Stonethrowers Rally Top 10

1/ Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle Subaru Impreza

2/ Roy White/James O’Brien MG

3/ James Belton/Mark Glennerster Subaru Impreza

4/ Paddy McVeigh/Stephen O’Hanlon Subaru WRC

5/ Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore Toyota Starlet

6/ Sam Moffet/James O’Reilly Mitsubishi Evo

7/ Josh Moffet/John Rowan Mitsubishi Evo

8/ Stephen Wright/Susanne Wright Mitsubishi Evo

9/ Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally Subaru WRC

10/ Eugene Meegan/Sarah Whelan Mitsubishi Evo 4



Monaghan Motor Club Endurance Trial

Sunday next see’s Monaghan Motor Club host their annual endurance trial. The Four Seasons Hotel in Monaghan town is the start venue for the event with scrutiny starting at 7.30am at Sam’s Diner (Opposite Four Seasons), drivers briefing is at 9.30 with first car off at 10am. Regulations and entry forms are available on club web site at As always many marshals are required so please contact any committee member as soon as possible.  


Comments are closed.