Monaghan MC Endurance Trial win for Mc Loughlin and Tynan

Posted: August 23, 2013 in Uncategorized


Leitrim’s Enda Mc Loughlin, navigated by Declan Tynan won last Sundays Monaghan Motor Club Endurance trial for a second successive year. The pairing had a 26 second advantage over Ian Downey and William Kelly after 23 testing selectives across North Monaghan. Eddie Peterson and Kevin Fagan were 3rd with the top three all in similar Starlets.

            CoC for the event Andy Mackarel and his team put a mammoth effort into getting and setting up selectives which proved very popular with all who took part. The day started with scrutiny at Sam’s Diner and then up to event HQ at the Four Seasons Hotel. First car departed at 10.30am and headed for the Threemilehouse/Greenans Cross areas to endure 10 demanding selectives through lanes and yards known locally as Keenans, Mc Guinness’ and Wrights Quarry as well as the farm lanes of Robert and Richard Moore before returning to the Four Seasons for a much deserved dinner break and service. The afternoon selectives brought competitors northwards towards Balinode/Scotstown/Tydavnet and Carrickroe where 13 more tests lay in wait. These selectives were on the farm lanes of Mc Mahons, Sherlocks and Mc Meels as well as Mc Aree Engineering Works at Carrickroe, Wattersons Quarry and the ever popular track at Rally School Ireland. This event surely lived up to its name as an endurance trial with the first car arriving back to HQ at 7.00pm where results and prize giving took place soon after.

            Ian Downey and William Kelly had led through the early selectives but it was the Starlet of Mc Loughlin/Tynan which led at the mid way halt and progressed through the afternoon tests to extend their lead and follow up on last years result with another overall win. Karl O’Donohue and Damian Connolly were 4th overall and 2nd in class 1 in their Rover 214 with Midlands men Sam Johnston and Nigel McCloughry 5th overall and 1st in class 1. Martin Tynan and Fintan Clerkin rounded off the top three in class 1 which was the endurance trial specification car class.

            Michael and Ciaran Tynan won class 2 in the “petite” 998cc Diahatsu Cuora ahead of Stephen Rushe and Conor Hagan in a Toyota Yaris. Francie Mc Kenna and Oisin Craig were 3rd in class 2 in the rally spec Rover MG ZR, this was Oisin’s first competitive outing so a good result for this team. Kieran “Bilko” Mc Carra and Gary Mc Crudden were tops in class 3 and 6th overall, just ahead of Daniel Mc Kenna and Peter Deery who were 7th overall in the left hand drive mazda. James Greenan and Seamus Mc Tigue were 3rd in class 3, just ahead of Jonathan McGovern and Damian Treanor.

            Damian “shortcut” Hagan and Derek Mackarel won class 5 in their rear wheel drive mazda MX5, ahead of Thelma and Louise (aka Eoghan Corr and Brendan Treanor) in a similar MX5. Other locals to feature included Adrian and Anthony Foley in there Nova who finished 16th overall with Peter and Shane Farrell 18th overall. Samuel and Carol Patterson took the trusty corsa home to 21st overall. Arthur and Mac Kierans viewed most of the days proceedings from the sidelines,

having parked their mount on its side in almost the identical same place as they slid of on last year!

            Coc of the event, Andy Mackarel thanks all the land and property owners for their help and support, all the marshals and time keepers, results team and the Four Seasons Hotel. Also a big thank you to John Kelly, Damian Treanor, Fintan Clerkin, Richard Cassidy, Rodney Adams, Trevor Farrell and especially to Cora for all their help. Also to anyone else who helped out in any way. Special word of thanks to Damian Hagan for tying up all the tape that little bit higher so the MX5 could fit underneath it!! There is a good selection of photo’s from this event at


Cork MC Jim Walsh Cork Forestry Rally

Michael O’Brien and Greg Shinnors won last Sundays Jim Walsh Cork Forestry Rally in a focus WRC, almost a minute ahead of Owen Murphy and James O Brien. Josh Moffett and Jason McKenna proved they are an up and coming force on the gravel by taking 3rd overall in their EVO 9, with just 11 seconds separating second, third and fourth places. The two wheel drive battle came down to a nail biting finish as Frank Kelly just pipped Marty McCormack by 3 seconds, having been level with 2 stages to go. Shane McGirr took 3rd two wheel drive and 7th overall. Sam Moffett and James O’Reilly were 9th overall and 2nd group N. Enda McNulty and Paul Sheridan wee 11th overall and 1st in class 20. Michael Conlon and Ciaran McPhillips were 17th overall and Michael Carbin/Stephen Thornton were 20th overall and 3rd in class 20.


Night Navigation Classes

Yes its that time of year again and with the night navigation season only a matter of 6 weeks away Monaghan Motor Club will once again be holding night navigation classes for new and existing navigators to brush up on their skills. These classes will commence next Wednesday night 28th August starting at 8pm in Threemilehouse GAA complex.


Mayo Autocross/Ulster Rally

Best of luck to travelling club members this week to Mayo Autocross for the final round of Harringtons Quarry Autocross. Derek Mackarel will lead the charge in his nova as he aims to secure a class win in the championship.

            Also to all members heading for Enniskillen this weekend to contest the Ulster International Rally. Daniel Mc Kenna, Josh Moffett, Sam Moffett, Steven Wright, Shane Maguire, Damien Hagan and Gary Mc Phillips along with their respective navigators are all on the entry list. Good luck to all and full report next week.




Comments are closed.