Tynan & Grennan End Their Season On A High

Posted: March 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

New names appeared on the Squealing Pig Border navigation trophy for the second year running as Michael Carbin and Evin Hughes’ 2nd place result on last Saturday night’s Cavan Motor Club Navigation Trial handed them the coveted prize just pipping Andy Mackarel and Liam Higgins at the post while Arthur Kierans and Ashley McAdoo’s 10th place was just enough to clinch the Motorsport Ireland National navigation championship for a 4th consecutive year by 2 points after 8 demanding rounds. Deserved winners of the event were Declan Tynan and Andrew Grennan with the only clean sheet of the night to end on a high after a somewhat subdued season by their standards. The Errigal Country House Hotel in Cootehill was an excellent HQ for this the final event of the 2010/11 navigation season with Domnic McArdle, ably assisted by Mervin Wedlock and their team laying out one of the best routes of the year with smiles all round at event finish.

            The first half of the event headed west from Cootehill straddling the Monaghan border towards Trehoo cross and Scotshouse then back again through the Drung and Lisnageer areas to Tullyvin. Border series contenders Chris Kelly and Sam Johnston dealt themselves a massive blow at time point 6 with a wrong approach while National championship leaders Arthur and Ashley lost 5 minutes at tp7 with a jammed gearbox, indeed this was their only penalties of the night but it was heart in mouth stuff to the end as only a top 10 finish would ensure them the National title once again.  Tp12 known locally as Gillespies lane saw some time loss but Kinkades lane out to tp 15 was essentially where the event was won and lost as Declan and Andrew cleaned this tightly timed section while everyone else in contention dropped time.

            The second half of the event headed south up through the famous Knobby’s junction towards the Mountain Lodge windfarm with lanes coming thick and fast. Little changed at the front through the final 10 time points and it was back to the finish ramp down through the Kill area. Once the results sheets went up the calculators were out in earnest to figure out overall and class awards in both championships. Andy and Liam’s efforts weren’t enough on the night to take the Border Championship and they had to settle for an expert class win on the night and 2nd over-all in the Border. Carbin and Hughes took the semi-expert class win on the night ahead of Darren Babbington and Francis Keenan with Longford’s Kelly and Johnston in 3rd. Kevin Keenan and Barry Garvey had a great run to finish 4th over-all and take the novice class award ahead of local Cavan men Warren Carleton and John Hetherington with the Scotstown duo of Gerry Cassidy and Paul Sheridan 3rd. Midlands men Peter Hagan and Michael Reilly made their trip to Cavan worthwhile with a beginners class win from father and son team Jim and Thomas Wedlock with Darren Quinn and Nigel Cloughry 3rd. Once again well done to Cavan Motor Club and especially Bart, Mervin and all there helpers on a good, entertaining and straightforward navigation trial.

So that’s it for another season on the night navigation scene and well done to Arthur and Ashley on their National title and Michael and Evin on their Border navigation success. Also well done to all class award winners in both championships. Keep an eye out over the next few weeks for final championship results, which will be posted on the net, and also the dates for prize giving for these two popular championships. You made the effort to go to the events, please try and make it to the prize giving nights, even if there is no crystal to be lifted!        

 Cavan Motor Club Navigation Trial Results

1 Declan Tynan/Andrew Grennan (Subaru Impreza) 0 marks

2 Michael Carbin/Evin Hughes (Subaru Legacy) 1m

3 Andy Mackarel/Liam Higgins (Subaru Impreza) 1m

4 Kevin Keenan/Barry Garvey (Subaru Impreza) 2m

5 James Greenan/Ciaran Coyle (Nissan Almera) 2m

6 Ray O’Neill/Stephen O’Neill (Ford Mondeo) 2m

7 Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan (Subaru Impreza) 3m

8 Garreth Beagan/Stephen Thornton (Subaru Impreza) 3m

9 Warren Carleton/John Hetherington (Toyota Carina) 5m

10 Arthur Kierans/Ashley McAdoo (Subaru Impreza) 5m

11 Trevor Farrell/Noel Hall (Subaru Impreza) 6m

12 Gregory McQuillan/Conor Maguire (Vauxhall Vectra) 9m


1 Michael Carbin/Evin Hughes

2 Darren Babbington/Francis Keenan (Subaru Impreza) 10m

3 Chris Kelly/Sam Johnston (Subaru Impreza) 16m


1 Kevin Keenan/Barry Garvey

2 Warren Carleton/John Hetherington

3 Gerry Cassidy/Paul Sheridan (Subaru Impreza) 20m


1 Peter Hagan/Michael Reilly (Proton) 12m

2 Jim Wedlock/Thomas Wedlock (Vauxhall Vectra) 19m

3 Darren Quinn/Nigel McCloughry (Toyota Sprinter) 23m

West Cork Rally

Monaghan man Damian Connolly guided Dubliner and Billy Coleman award winner Robert Barrable to an exciting victory in the West Cork Rally last weekend. After 2 days and 18 stages they took a slender 1 second win in their Skoda Fabia S2000 from Darragh O Riordan and Tony McDaid in a Subaru WRC with Colm Murphy and Don Montgomery 3rd in a group N Impreza. Club member Thomas Treanor also made the trip south to navigate for Graham Kelly in his G4 Escort but their rally ended on Stage 6.

Midland Moto Stages Rally Preview

Sunday next sees Midland Motor Club host their annual stages rally based around the town of Rooskey on the Roscommon/Leitrim. With this being considered a local event, a host of Monaghan crews are on the entry list, using it as a shakedown for our upcoming Monaghan Stages Rally and are sure provide excellent entertainment on one of the first local tarmac events of the year. Donegal men and last year’s winners Declan and Brian Boyle head the field with Daniel McKenna and Andrew Grennan at 2 in their trusty Scanbitz Escort. Sam Moffett and James O’Reilly are 4th with Maurice Moffett sure to provide some sideways action at 5. Martin Tynan with JP McAree on the notes is at 8 and out to test the water in his new EVO 8 while Raymond Conlon and Emmett Sherry are 9th in their twin cam. Damian Hagan and Janice Mackarel are next up in 14th with Richard Moffett and Martin Connolly at 24. Josh Moffett and Domhnall Lennon are in 39th in there 106 while David Moffett and Patrick Brides are 2nd on the road in the junior category. Full report next week. 


The recently postponed Monaghan Motor Club autotest has been re-scheduled for Sunday 3rd April at Wrights Quarry, Swann’s Cross. Entry forms available on club web site.


Comments are closed.