Monaghan crews take all three podium places Border Championship.

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship

 The Sligo Park Hotel was the venue on Saturday night last as the awards ceremony for the 2011 Sligo Pallets Border Rally championship took place. A large crowd attended this popular event to see the father and son team of Arthur and Macartan Kierans lift the 1st over-all award. Class wins for the Aghabog men in Monaghan, Cavan, Sligo and Donegal gave them a maximum score of 40 to take the over-all win of this popular and competitive championship. Arthur and Mac had also made the trip south to Cork the previous week and wrapped up a class win in the national rally championship.

Arthur and Macs prizes included Sligo Pallets rally jackets, crystal, a rally action portrait of their season personally signed by rally legend Carlos Sainz and also a paid entry for next years Mayo Stages Rally. This dynamic duo are also on the starters list for this weekends upcoming drumlin navigation trial and are sure to be in contention for class and indeed top ten honours on home territory. All in all a perfect rally season for the KES motor sport team. Arthur and Mac took the opportunity of thanking the Border Rally committee and host clubs for running an excellent championship, which is competitor friendly in every aspect. They also thanked Sligo Pallets who were main sponsor for the series. Arthur also paid tribute to Sharkey Motor sport for their trojan work in having the car perfectly ready and reliable for every event. He also thanked Hugie McElvaney for his support throughout the year and finally to everyone else who played a part during the year, no matter how big or small.

Second over-all honours also befell a Monaghan crew as Aaron McQuaid and Aidan Coyle’s three class wins and a second place saw them finish on 39 points. Class wins in Monaghan, Sligo and Donegal with 2nd in Cavan and Newry suggests a good campaign for the McQuaid Tyres backed escort team. Cootehills Damian O’Reilly had lead the series through the early rounds but slipped back slightly through the latter stages to finish on 38 points and take 3rd over-all driver.  Donegal’s Derek Henna took the 3rd over-all navigators award as he co-piloted for Adrian Cannon in a class 2 civic.

The night kicked off with a fabulous dinner followed by the awards

ceremony. There were many other Monaghan and local crews in attendance to collect their trophies for the season past. Shane Maguire collected his award for 2nd in class 4 following a tough but consistent year for the Ballinode man in his group N Subaru. Sean Agnew and Seamus Connolly were the class 6 winners in their citroen  C2R2 pocket rocket. David Smith and Austin Hamill were 3rd in the same class in their Peugeot 106 and considering they only had 3 finish’s coupled with numerous gremlins along the way, 3rd in class is surely welcomed. Niall Maguire and Enda Sherry led the class 8 field home in their Subaru, ahead of good rival and friend Kevin Barrett and Sean Mullally. Indeed Niall and Enda were in contention for over-all honours through mid-season but a class win and three 2nd places were enough for the class 8 win. Worth noting also that Niall/Enda, Kevin/Sean along with Michael Carbin and Evin Hughes in their class 10 205 were the recipients of the team award for this years Border Championship. Championship sponsors Andrew Mullan and Elaine Doherty of Sligo Pallets were 3rd in the competitive class 8 in their EVO 8.

Cootehills Damian “Junior” McCabe took the class 9 navigators award just ahead of local rival Gene McDonald who collected 2nd in class 9. With McQuaid and Coyles promotion to 2nd over-all the class 10 honours went to the father and son team of Sean and Fintan Sherry. Two 2nd and a 3rd in class  rounded off a great year for this crew in their McAree Eng backed escort. The MC Blinds backed escort was also at the top of its class as Mickey and Aidan collected their class 13 awards. A class win and three 2nd places rounded off a successful campaign for this experienced crew who showed a tremendous increase of speed in all competitions this year. John McQuaid took 2nd in class 14 honours whilst his navigator Seamus O’Connor was 3rd in class. There were many other Monaghan crews who were just outside the class honours or who didn’t compete in the minimum four rounds of the six round campaign so maybe next year is their year.

            Andrew Mullan and Elaine Doherty (Sligo Pallets) also took the opportunity of thanking the six host clubs Mayo, Monaghan, Cavan, Newry & Mourne, Sligo and Donegal for the excellent events they ran, all of the marshal’s who voluntarily helped on each event, County Councils, Gardai and anyone else who helped in any way to make the 2011 Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship such a resounding success. The night concluded with a disco and celebrations, which lasted into the early hours to round off what was an exceptional year for crews flying the Monaghan flag in the Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship.

Cork Startrek Navigation Trial

Richard Cassidy and veteran Paul Phelan made their long journey south to Cork worthwhile on Saturday last with an overall victory on the Cork Startrek Navigation Trial. Following a 130-mile route they finished on 7 marks in Richards trusted vectra. Their closest rival’s Michael Carbin and Evin Hughes finished on 12 marks to take the expert class win. With no further results available on going to press it seems that some regular national campaigners must of hit trouble in the Cork countryside. Midlands men Chris Kelly and Sam Johnston were outside the top 10 while local Cork men Colin Fitzgerald and Daire Hayes were also missing from the top 10 finishers.

Cork Startrek Navigation Top 12

1 Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan (Vauxhall Vectra) 7 marks
2 Michael Carbin/Evin Hughes (Subaru Impreza) 12m
3 Darren Quinn/Nigel McCloughry (Subaru Legacy) 22m
4 Johnny Kenneally/Ken Carmody (Opel Vectra) 31m
5 Joseph Shinnors/Greg Shinnors (Subaru Impreza) 34m
6 James Fitzgerald/Pat Cashman (Subaru Impreza) 36m
7 David Beamish/Muireann Hayes (Toyota Carina) 40m
8 Derek Butler/Olivia McCarthy (Honda Civic) 62m
9 Alwyn White/Adrian Tobin (Toyota Carina) 75m
10 Brian O’Mahony/David Swanton (Vauxhall Vectra) 79m
11 Alan Shinnors/George Shinnors (Subaru Impreza) 79m
12 Ger O’Connell/Denis O’Donovan (Subaru Impreza) 89m

Monaghan Drumlin Navigation Trial

The Drumlin hills of North Monaghan will once again be alive this Saturday night 12th November with the running of the infamous Drumlin Navigation Trial. Coc for the event is Stephan Thornton, ably assisted by Garret Beagan and their team with Sean McDermotts GAA complex in Threemilehouse the venue for plotting and results. No doubt Stephen and Garreth have laid on a tough route, which is normally associated with the Drumlin and are appealing for all marshals to make themselves available and be at HQ by 8.00pm latest. This years event is the 3rd round of the National and Squealing Pig Border navigation championships but more importantly for some its is the final round of the traders and Gary Nesbitt club navigation championships. As it stands things couldn’t be much tighter as Michael Carbin and Michael Tynan are tied on points with Andy Mackarel only 2 points adrift for the coveted traders trophy. All three would be considered as potential winners along with their respective navigators of Evin Hughes, Ciaran Tynan and Liam Higgins. So with a maximum of 18 points up for grabs all is to play for through the drumlin hills of Monaghan. Many class awards are also up for grabs on the night in the club championship. Watch this space for full report next week.


Comments are closed.