Maguire and Sherry back to Winning Ways

Posted: March 14, 2012 in Uncategorized


In an exciting finish to the 2012 Mayo Stages Rally, Monaghans Niall Maguire and Enda Sherry (Subaru WRC) got back to winning ways with a nine second advantage over good rivals Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally in a similar spec car. The Mitsubishi of Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan was a further 44 seconds behind in third. Pre-event Dunlop series leaders, Thomas Fitzmaurice/Fionn Foley (Subaru WRC) made a great recovery, 85th after the opening stage to finish fifth behind Roy White and James O’Brien in their unique MG ZR Rover S2000. The two-wheel drive battle was won by Camillus Bradley in a class 14 escort.

            On this the opening round of the Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship it was last year’s winner, Barrett who led after the opening test. Seamus Leonard posted a time five seconds quicker but he was late at the stage arrival control as he tried to solve a misfire on the road section, incurring a three minute penalty. Pre-event Dunlop series leader, Thomas Fitzmaurice (Subaru WRC) spun and lost almost two minutes and ended the first stage down in 85th place. Brian O’Mahony who started the event at number 3 lost some ten seconds at the stage start when his Subaru stalled twice and lost even more time when he encountered the stricken Subaru of Fitzmaurice. With all these events unfolding around them it was Maguire/Sherry and Barrett/Mullally who kept their noses clean and were in a great battle for the over-all lead. Level on time going into the final loop of three it was Barrett who drew first blood with a two second advantage but Niall and Enda responded with a faster time on the final two tests to take a deserved win, much to the delight of the Maguire camp. Kevin and Sean did have a scare late on as a puncture threatened to drop them out of the leader board but thankfully they managed to make the end of stage 8 with only a small time loss of around 5seconds. This win moves Niall and Enda into the over-all lead in the Dunlop National Rally Championship after 2 rounds. Well done lads and hopefully the start of a good season ahead.

            Not to be outdone by Rally winners there were many other local crews giving a good account of them selves in their respective class battles. Cavan’s Jonathan Pringle and Martin Byrne were on the limit throughout the day to win the competitive class 13and 10th overall. Drive of the day could be awarded to Anthony Hand and Emmet Sherry. This crew have not been out much over the last eighteen months but this wasn’t apparent as they set some great times all day to take the class 11 honours and an excellent 12th overall in their immaculate escort. Defending border champions Arthur and Mac Kierans showed they mean business again this year with a convincing class 12 win and 14th over-all. Next up were Jack Maguire and Stephen McElroy who finished in 19th overall and 4th in the highly competitive class 13. Mickey Conlon and Paddy McCague got off to a slow start by his own admission but set some good times on the final loop of stages to finish 5th in class 13 and 22nd over-all. Mickey’s rally prep team were under the cosh over this past fortnight as this car was a mere bare shell without even a roof skin only a week prior to the event! Young Ryan Loughran with James Mc Carville on the notes were setting top times all day in class 11 but eventually had to settle for second behind Hand/Sherry. Justin Smyth and Gregory McQuillan had a good start to their season by finishing 2nd in class 9 behind Donegal’s Barry Mc Gill and Derek Henna. No doubt this Lisnalong crew will be aiming to go one better next time out.

            Michael Carbin and Evin Hughes continued their good run of late in their Peugeot 205 to take the class 10 win and finished 33rd overall. Seamus Connolly and Gary Mc Crudden had a number of problems to overcome throughout the day and eventually finished 4th in class 11. David Smith and Austin Hamill also battled with mechanical issues during the day but finished 4th in class six in their Peugeot 106.

Barry McKenna and Raymond Conlon teamed up for the first time but unfortunately their efforts weren’t fruitful on this occasion as they had a number of mechanical issues during the day but got their class 13 escort to the finish. Shane Maguire and Martin Mc Garrity’s bad run of luck continued as they had mechanical trouble and incurred time penalties. Their problems hit after a fifth fastest time on the opening stage. 

            Unfortunately, as always not every crew that cross the start ramp make it through unscathed as Josh Moffett and James O’Reilly found out the hard way with a small off on the opening test. Kieran (Bilko) McCarra and Darren McCague were on a serious run in their newly built Honda, lying in 12th over-all after seven stages but they too visited the scenery on the penultimate stage to end their assault on the class victory. Laurence Sherry and Jonathan Treanor were in trouble as early as scrutiny on the Saturday evening as they lost 5th gear but managed to get the box out, gear fixed and back in only to loose 2nd and 5th gear on the second stage. If this wasn’t enough they got a new gearbox in at service only to encounter even more mechanical issues over the final loop. Only thing this crew can take away from Mayo is a broken box and the fact that when things were going well they were matching and beating the best in class 9! David Smyth and Gareth Quinlan also had their share of troubles in Mayo as their twin cam retired on ss5 as mechanical gremlins set in.


Mayo Stages 2012 Top 10

1 Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC) 71m 30s

2 Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally (Impreza WRC) 71m 39s

3 Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Lancer Evo 9 Gp N) 72m 23s

4 Roy White/James O’Brien (MG ZR S2000) 73m 08s

5 Thomas Fitzmaurice/Fionn Foley (Impreza WRC) 73m 26s

6 Trevor Bustard/Kenny Bustard (Lancer Evo 9 Gp N) 73m 57s

7 Seamus Leonard/John McCafferty (Impreza WRC) 74m 06s

8 Camillus Bradley/Crawford Henderson (Escort) 74m 40s

9 Paul Barrett/Peter Ward (Escort) 75m 13s

10 Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne (Escort) 75m 20s


Motorsport Safety Team Group N Production class:

1 Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan

2 Trevor Bustard/Kenny Bustard

3 Paddy McVeigh/Stephen O’Hanlon Two wheel drive class:

1 Camillus Bradley/Crawford Henderson

2 Paul Barrett/Peter Ward

3 Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne


Monaghan MC Navigation Trial

This Friday night 16th March see’s Monaghan Motor Club host the final round of this years National and Squealing Pig Border navigation championships. Coc’s Barry Garvey and Kevin Keenan are sure to have a challenging route in store for competitors with plotting in Urbleshanney Hall, Scotstown starting at 8.30pm. All marshals available for a time point are asked to be at HQ by 9pm latest, all help is needed!


Marshals Required

Monaghan MC are looking for marshals for Midland Stages Rally on 25th March & for the Circuit of Ireland on Easter weekend, particularly Easter Saturday. Anybody available and willing to help please contact 047-81139 after 7pm or e-mail Monaghan Motor Club at


Comments are closed.