Martin and Michael Tynan win in MAYO

Posted: September 26, 2012 in Uncategorized
Bushwhacker Forestry Rally


It was a day of high drama on last Saturday’s Mc Kelvey Bushwhacker Forestry Rally in Omagh. The final two stages saw Derek Mc Garrity overcome a 3 second deficit to win by 13 in his Impreza from Martin Cairns who was second in a similar Subaru. Championship leaders Gary Jennings and Rory Kennedy were on the start line of the final stage and ready to clinch the Valvoline Irish Forestry Championship when his Subaru expired in a cloud of steam and smoke. This left veteran crew of Kenny McKinstry and Noel Orr promoted to 3rd over-all as the drama in front unfolded.

            Jennings’ title rivals Colin Britton and Arthur Kierans finished 4th over-all to ensure this years Irish Forestry Championship goes down to the wire on the final round in Co. Antrim. For yet another weekend running Frank Kelly and Liam Brennan claimed the two wheel drive honours and 6th over-all from Vivian Hamill in 2nd and Adrian Hetherington in 3rd. Damian Connolly was navigating for Derek McGeehan in the mini WRC and finished 7th over-all and 2nd in class. Stephen and Suzanne Wright had another fine run through the sticks to come home with 8th overall and 3rd in class, albeit in a slightly older spec EVO 6. Vincent and Jp McAree had a troubled day with brake issues but must be content with 10th overall and 2nd in class 2. Tarmac experts Sam Moffett and James O’Reilly are getting to grips with the unique driving style on the loose and finished in 19th overall. Michael Conlon acquired the services of Ciaran McPhillips as navigator for the day and had a steady run to 23rd overall and 4th in class.

            Unfortunately for Josh Moffett and Jason McKenna they had a second non-finish in as many weekends as they failed to make first service. Best of luck to Colin Britton and Aghabog’s Arthur Kierans on their quest to win this years Valvoline Irish Forestry Championship on the Glens of Antrim Rally on 27th October. Arthur and son Mac also hope to defend their Border Rally Championship title on the final round coming up on Donegal Harvest on 13th October.      


Mayo Motor Club Harringtons Quarry Championship

Well done to father and son team of Martin and Michael Tynan on their recent success’ at this years Mayo Motor Club Loose Surface Quarrycross championship. This venue has become very popular with competitors from around the country for its full gravel surface, which is well maintained. After 4 rounds in this years championship, Martin was pipped by a single point for 3rd overall in his EVO8, a great result considering there were 84 registered drivers over the 4 event’s. This result was consolidated with a 3rd overall last Sunday where he led after the first run. Not to be outdone Michael Tynan also contested all four rounds and consistency paid off to finish in 5th overall in his EVO 5.

            The championship was won by Derek Deane in a buggy special with Maynooth’s Peter McCullagh 2nd in a lancer and James Lannon 3rd in and EVO 9. 


Monaghan Motor Club Night Navigation Trial

Saturday 6th October sees Monaghan Motor Club host the first of this years Night Navigation’s. This event is a counting round of the 2012 club championship and Shane Maguire has taken on the role of Coc, assisted by Michael Carbin and their team. This event will be based in Ballinode Community Centre and reg’s and entry forms are on club website As always help is needed and any marshals available are asked to contact Shane or any committee member and be in Ballinode Community Centre no later than 8pm on Saturday 6th October.


Comments are closed.