McCarville guides Kiernan to Galway National Success

Posted: February 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

Galway Motor Club kick started the 2013 Irish Rally calendar in earnest last weekend with their International Rally. Customary wet and mucky condition’s greeted the 100 strong field at the start of this 8 stage event. Reigning Tarmac champions Darren Gass and Enda Sherry were number 1 seeds but their day was short lived, getting stuck after a visit the scenery and unable to get back in the running. Eugene Donnelly emerged as the early leader in the Mini while three time British Tarmac champion Keith Cronin used the early stages to get acquainted with the all new WRC right hand drive Subaru. Once the Cork man found his rhythm he was unstoppable and posted 3 fastest stage times through the final five stages to record a memorable win. Eugene Donnelly and Mark Kane had a consistent run through the Galway lanes to record another 2nd overall in Galway. Donegal cousins Declan and Brian Boyle had a great result in their WRC Impreza to take 3rd overall by 7seconds from Derrek McGarrity in 4th with Donagh Kelly 5th.

WRC cars held the top seven overall positions followed by a quintuplet of group N production cars. Kerry man Alan Ring had a start to finish win in the group N class but was pushed all the way by the hard charging Sam Moffett who had closed the deficit to only 2seconds for the final three stages. Unfortunately for Sam and James O’Reilly they encountered a misfire on the final test which dropped them back to 3rd group N, less than a second behind brother and rivals Josh Moffett and John Rowan. All in all a good day for the Combilift team. Indeed there were four Monaghan crews in the top 5 group N as Stephen Wright and Gregory McQuillan had a consistent run all day and a great class battle to eventually settle for 4th, 23seconds ahead of Shane Maguire and Damian Connolly in their Subaru.

The National and Junior Rally’s threw up some fierce battles throughout the day but drive of the day must go to Paddy Kiernan and James McCarville who fought their way up the leader board throughout the event to eventually take a 19second overall winning margin amongst much more powerful machinery in their class 13 escort. Monaghans Jim McKenna and Thomas Treanor also had a great day in Galway, up the 2nd overall in the National through the early stages and eventually settled for 5th overall and a class 14 win. Threemilehouse man Stephen Hagan got a late call up to sit with Cavan’s Rodney Wilton but they disappeared off the time sheets after stage 5 whilst lying in 7th overall and 2nd class 14. Seamus Connolly and Gary McCrudden were setting top three times in class 11 but an altercation with a Galway stone wall ended their campaign.

Cavan lad Darren O Brien with Gary Kiernan on the notes got off to a flyer in the Junior Rally and incredibley recorded a 13th fastest stage time overall on the opening test, in a class 11 civic! To put that in context only two group N cars were quicker and was 2nd fastest twd time overall behind Tom Flaherty in a class 14 escort. Unfortunately for this young Cavan crew there day was to end on ss4 with gear selector trouble whilst holding a 41 second lead in the junior event.


Galway International Rally Top 10

1 Keith Cronin/Marshall Clarke (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h 05m 51s

2 Eugene Donnelly/Mark Kane (Mini WRC) 1h 06m 04s

3 Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h 06m 50s

4 Derek McGarrity/James McKee (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h 06m 57s

5 Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h 08m 01s

6 Garry Jennings/Neil Doherty (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h 10m 24s

7 John Joe Fleming/Robbie Ward (Ford Focus WRC) 1h 10m 46s

8 Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 Gp N) 1h 10m 59s

9 Josh Moffett/John Rowan (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 Gp N), 1h 11m 20s

10 Sam Moffett/James O’Reilly (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 Gp N) 1h 11m 21s


Group N Production class:

1 Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy

2 Josh Moffett/John Rowan

3 Sam Moffett/James O’Reilly



1 Paddy Kiernan/James McCarville (Ford Escort) 1h 12m 33s

2 Tom Flaherty/Patrick Curley (Ford Escort) 1h 12m 53s

3 Stephen Hernon/Jeff Case (Subaru Impreza Gp N) 1h 13m 12s



1 Richard Moore/Paul Twomey (Honda Civic) 59m 43s

2 Kenneth Quirke/Seamus Skinner (Honda Civic) 1h 02m 44s

3 Justin Ryan/Gary Collins (Honda Civic) 1h 03m 13s


Cork 1000 Isles Navigation Trial

Skibbereen and District Car Club played host to the 6th round of the National Night Navigation Championship on Saturday night last. A difficult night was had by the travelling local crews as Midlands men Sam Johnston and Colin Duffy took a slender 1 minute win from locals David Beamish and Daire Hayes with Ger O’Connell and Denis O Donovan 3rd overall.

The plot and bash sections seemed to cause most concern for navigators with all crews forced to miss some time points. Andy Mackarel and Liam Higgins came home in 5th overall to record a good points haul towards their National hopes with two local rounds remaining. Richard Cassidy and Paul Phelan finished in 7th overall despite a broken drive for the final five time points and had it not been for the exploits of Martin Tynan and Fintan Clerkin they would of had a no score in Cork. The latter novice crew of Tynan/Clerkin finished in 10th having missed some time points through the plot and bash sections and took 2nd in class.

All roads lead to the Longford village of Dromard this Saturday night as the Squealing Pig Border championship resumes with three rounds over the next five weekends. Full report next week


Cork 1000 Isles Navigation Top 12

1 Colin Duffy/Sam Johnston (Subaru Impreza) 65 marks,

2 David Beamish/Daire Hayes (Subaru Impreza) 66m,

3 Ger O’Connell/Denis O’Donovan (Subaru Impreza) 82m,

4 Ray O’Neill/Stephen O’Neill (Ford Mondeo) 83m,

5 Andy Mackarel/Liam Higgins (Subaru Impreza) 84m,

6 Brian O’Mahony/David Swanton (Vauxhall Vectra) 88m,

7 Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan (Vauxhall Vectra) 90m,

8 Trevor O’Callaghan/Iarla McCarthy (Vauxhall Vectra) 94m,

9 Joe Shinnors Jnr/Greg Shinnors (Subaru Impreza) 94m,

10 Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin (Subaru Impreza) 125m,

11 Dermot Whelton/Barry O’Sullivan (VW Golf) 142m,

12 Pakie Duffy/Nigel McCloughry (Subaru Impreza) 149m.


Comments are closed.