Tynan and Clerkin end Season on a high

Posted: March 13, 2013 in Uncategorized


Martin Tynan and Fintan Clerkin ended their navigation on a high at the weekend with an outright win on the Monaghan motor Club navigation Trial in Newbliss last Saturday night. This completes a great season for the pair as they recorded two wins in Donegal also. 36 crews departed Newbliss to tackle the tight knit trial with 40 timepoints and 7 via’s, never any more than seven miles from HQ as the crow flies. At petrol halt Tynan/Higgins were tied with Ashley McAdoo and Francis Keenan on 2 penalties. Andy Mackarel and Liam Higgins decided a cautious approach was the better option as they needed a good finish to claim the 2012/13 border and national championships, which they ultimately did with a 3rd over-all finish. Tynan/Clerkin and McAdoo/Keenan both held their nerve through the tricky second half, dropping a further two penalties to both finish on 4 with Tynan/Clerkin taking the overall win on novice over semi-expert ruling. National title chasers Colin Duffy and Sam Johnson took 4th overall as they had a good run in unfamiliar territory. Trevor Farrell and Noel Hall completed the top 5 and 3rd in expert class.

            With McAdoo/Keenan claiming top spot in the semi-expert class ahead of Pakie Duffy and Nigel McCloughery, it was Damien Treanor and Jonathan McGovern who took third place on a tough event. Dermot and Laurence rounded off a good year with many class trophies, taking top spot on this occasion and 10th overall. Eoghan Corr and Brendan Treanor were second in class once again ahead of Keith McConnon and Michael McCluskey. In what was a tough event for beginners, Fintan McGorman and Derek Mackarel used their local knowledge to great effect, taking a comfortable class win. Indeed had it not been for a dreaded 50 penalties with too much time take back they could of finished the event 6th overall. Second beginner went to Gerry Kelly and Seamus McTigue ahead of Donal McArdle and Andrew Wedlock.

            So after what was an enjoyable night for all who tackled the maze of lane’s through Newbliss and surrounding areas its was the old dog’s for the hard road, as Andy Mackarel and Liam Higgins are once again crowned double National and Squealing Pig Border navigation champions. Watch this space for upcoming National and Border prize giving dates.

            CoC’s for the event, Ciaran and Michael Tynan would like to thank all residents along the route, especially those who offered their private lanes. All 30 marshals who turned up on the night to ensure everything was manned. Results teams and to the tea ladies who did a great job.       


Monaghan MC Navigation Trial top 10

1 Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin (Subaru Impreza) 4 marks

2 Ashley McAdoo/Francis Keenan (Subaru Impreza) 4m

3 Andy Mackarel/Liam Higgins (Subaru Impreza) 5m

4 Colin Duffy/Sam Johnson (Subaru Impreza) 6m

5 Trevor Farrell/Noel Hall (Subaru Impreza) 8m

6 Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan (Subaru Impreza) 12m

7 Gary McElhinney/Damien Connolly (Subaru Impreza) 33m

8 Pakie Duffy/Nigel McCloughry (Subaru Impreza) 44m

9 Fintan McGorman/Derek Mackarel (Subaru Impreza) 61m

10 Dermot Keenan/Laurence Keenan (Subaru Impreza) 62m


Boyle cousins off to the prefect start

Declan and Brian Boyle have got off to the perfect start this season with another win on the opening round of the Sligo Pallets Border Rally championship on Sunday last in Mayo. This follows on from there win in Birr for the opening round of the national. the Donegal men took a start to finish win with 1min and 30sec’s to spare over Donagh Kelly, both in Subaru WRC. Russell Woods and Gary Gallagher had a great run through the Mayo stages to claim 3rd overall, 5 seconds ahead of Cavan’s Johnathan Pringle, both in class 13 escorts. Declan Gallagher and Ronan Murrin rounded off the top five. Raymond Conlon and Darren McCague flew the flag highest for the travelling Monaghan brigade with a great 5th overall finish and 3rd in class 13. 

            Arthur and Mac Kierans also had the perfect start to their border campaign as the back to back winners took another class win in the trusty class 12 escort. Seamus Connolly and Gary McCruddan finished with a class win and 14th overall after some disappointing results of late by their standards. They also took the drive of the day award. Justin Smyth and Gregory McQuillan had an eventful day and did well to finish as class 9 winners and 15th overall. This was despite a high speed spin on stage 2 and the gear stick breaking on stage 6. Justin and Gregory would like to thank all their sponsors for the day. Jack Maguire and Stephen McElroy were 17th overall in the red escort. Michael Conlon and Niall Connolly had a troubled day but finished in 20th overall. John and Niall Kelly made a welcomed return to the stages in the twin cam and finished 3rd in the highly competitive class 10. David Smyth and Mark Derry were also out in the class 11R twin cam and took 3rd place spoils.


Mayo Stages 2013 Top 10


1/ Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle Subaru WRC 8 1:05:09.7

2/ Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan Subaru WRC 8 1:06:39.2

3/ Russell Woods/Gary Gallagher Ford Escort Mk 13 1:09:25.8

4/ Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne Ford Escort RS 13 1 1:09:30.4

5/ Declan Gallagher/Ronan Murrin Toyota Starlet 13 2 1:09:32.0

6/ Raymond Conlon/Darren McCague Toyota Corolla 13 3 1:11:06.5

7/ Pat Kirk/Joe McNulty Mitsubishi Evo 4 1 1:11:34.7

8/ Andrew Mullen/Elaine Doherty Mitsubishi Evo 4 2 1:12:23.2

9/ Paul Clarke/Patrick Cunningham Ford Escort 13 4 1:12:41.8

10/ Daniel Conaghan/Terence Magee Ford Escort 13 5 1:12:46.5


Comments are closed.