Posted: October 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

It was a sight to behold in Monaghan Town on Saturday night last as hundreds of people flocked to the courthouse on the diamond for Daniel McKenna and Arthur Kierans’ Appreciation Night. The Scotshouse/Aghabog duo were being honoured for their triumph in the 2014 British Rally Championship this year. Hosted by Sean McCaffery, the night consisted of a number of speeches from representatives from the motorsport world and the local community. They included Heather Humphreys T.D., Chief Executive of Motorsport Ireland Alex Sinclair and the manager of Monaghan County Council Padraig McNally. There were also a number of videos that recounted the lads’ career and lives followed by a number of interviews with some of Monaghan’s other rallying stars including Shane Maguire, Gary McPhillips, Stephen Wright and Dessie Keenan. The stars of the show arrived in their Citroen DS3 about half an hour into the show and the crowds were thrilled as Daniel and Arthur climbed from the car with the BRC trophy aloft. Interviews with some of the people who helped the lads throughout the season followed including Bill Adair and Davy Greer who entertained the crowd with stories of the lads from throughout the season. Local representatives from Scotshouse and Aghabog also spoke. Eventually the stars of the show took to the stand and spoke to the gathered crowd. Both Daniel and Arthur offered their thanks to their team, friends and family for all the support they had received over the last two years before Daniel was asked to recount his day 2 accident from the Rally Isle of Man! The evening was wrapped up with quick video as people flocked to the car for photographs. A great night was had by all and Monaghan Motor Club would like to thank everyone who helped make the night possible.

Moffett and McKenna 2nd in Bushwhacker

Josh Moffett and Jason McKenna took second place in last weekends Bushwhacker rally. The pair finished seventeen seconds behind Martin Cairns and Gary McElhinney. The first two stages saw Cairns streak out an advantage, leading Moffett by four seconds with Desi Henry and Liam Moynihan a further four seconds behind in their Evo IX. James Gillen and Sarah Whelan held fourth just a second behind while Marty McKenna and Martin McGarrity tied for fifth with Niall McCullagh and Ryan McCloskey, Frank Kelly and Sean Ferris and Kenny McKinstry and Kenny Hull. Stage three saw Moffett take the lead from Cairns to lead by six seconds but Cairns started the fight back on the following stage and closed the lead to just two seconds. Setting up a great fight heading into the afternoon stages. Desi Henry was hanging on in third place twenty seconds off the lead. James Gillen and Sarah Whelan went off the road and into retirement on SS3 while on stage four Marty McKenna and Martin McGarrity retired with clutch issues. Martin Cairns shot into the lead on stage 5 before it was cancelled due safety concerns and on stage 6 the S14 driver extended it to 13 seconds over Moffett. As the afternoon went on there were no major changes at the front of the field but on stage 10 there was drama in the modified section as Frank Kelly was forced to retire with a broken halfshaft handing the lead to Adrian Hetherington, he led Seamus O’Connell and Emmet Sherry by 20 seconds. Martin Cairns and Gary McElhinney completed the final stage to win the Bushwhacker Rally from Josh Moffett and Desi Henry. Adrian Hetherington took the modified win by 19 seconds. Sam Moffett and James O Reilly took the Group N win and 9th overall. Emmet Sherry navigated Seamus O’Connell to 10th overall and second modified car home. Mickey Conlon and Ciaran McPhillips took second in class 6 Maurice Moffett and Martin Connolly took 7th in class 6. Well done all

  1. Martin Cairns/Gary McElhinney 32:18
  2. Josh Moffett/Jason McKenna + 0.17
  3. Desi Henry/ Liam Moynihan + 0.43
  4. Kenny McKinstry/ Kenny Hull + 0.52
  5. Pat O’Connell/ Mark Wiley + 1.02

Monaghan MC Night Navigation Trial

Monaghan motor club will kickstart the night navigation season this Saturday night, 4th October. CoC’s for the event are Michael McCluskey and Keith McConnon with headquarters in the Corduff GFC complex. As always marshals are in short supply so if you are available on the night please be at the Corduff GFC complex before 8pm. Full report next week.


Comments are closed.