Posted: November 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

It was a dramatic few days last weekend as the World Rally Championship season wrapped up on Wales Rally GB and Monaghan had two different crews competing in different classes on the rally. 2014 British Rally Champions Daniel McKenna and Arthur Kierans won their entry because of there championship success this year through the Road to Wales Initiative. McKenna and Kierans were competing in a Citroen DS3 R3T, the same machine that took them to the BRC title. The pair had a great start to the event and were right on the pace of the Junior World Rally championship regulars. The Monaghan crew went second fastest on stage three and held third place in class RC3 but it all came undone on the fourth test as their DS3 suffered overheating issues which forced their retirement. McKenna and Kierans were able to rejoin the rally on day 2 under super rally rules and got straight back on the pace going third fastest in class on two of the opening five stages of the day. The pair found themselves in a great battle with JWRC regular Quentin Giordano. Heading into service 29.8 seconds ahead of the Frenchman. Into the second half of the day and McKenna and Kierans were getting into a good rhythm setting second fastest time on stage 16 and then setting fastest time on the final test of the day. However it was all to come to a heartbreaking end the next morning when mechanical trouble forced the Monaghan pair to retire on the first stage of the final day.

It was a better weekend for the Combilift Rallying team as Monghan’s Josh Moffett and Northern Ireland’s John Rowan took second place in Group N on their WRC debut in their Mitsubishi Evo IX. Moffett and Rowan took four stage wins in their class on their way to an impressive finish on their WRC debut.

Group N was won by Northern Ireland’s Phillip Morrow and Jonny Hart with third place being taken by Irish crew Brendan Cumiskey and Conor Foley.

Dunlop National Rally Championship Awards Night

It was one last hurrah for the Dunlop National Rally Championship as the series had it’s annual prize-giving night at the Sheraton Hotel, Athlone last Saturday night. A number of local crews were recognised for the achievements throughout the year. Shane Maguire and Stephen Thornton collected their award for winning the Dunlop National Group N title. Shane had a fantastic battle with Josh Moffett throughout the year to win the title at the penultimate round in Galway while navigator Stephen took the co-drivers title at the last round in Donegal.

It was success also for Michael Carbin and Emmett Mc Cooey as the Monaghan crew took the win in class 20.

Mackarel Crowned National Autocross Champion

It was a great weekend for Derek Mackarel as the 18 year old Monaghan man was crowned National Loose Surface Autocross Champion last weekend with one round to spare. Mackarel, who drivers a Vauxhall Nova, took numerous class wins throughout the season and another one last weekend at the Birr and District Motorclub Autocross to clinch the title. A great achievement on his first full year of competition.

Midlands Motor Club Navigation Trial

All roads lead to Ballinalee, Co. Longford for Round 3 of the National and Round 2 of the Squealing Pig Border Navigation Championships this Saturday night. CoC’s Eamon and Dessie Brady have a 75 mile route laid out with the event starting at 9.01pm. Full report next week



Comments are closed.