McKenna/Grennan gear up for Monte Carlo

Posted: January 20, 2015 in Uncategorized


Daniel McKenna & Andrew Grennan have begun their journey to the Monte Carlo Rally, the opening round of the Junior World Rally Championship. The pair will begin their reconnaissance for the event this week. A shakedown stage on Wednesday will give the crew a chance to assess the conditions before the ceremonial start on Thursday evening. It will be a baptism of fire for this young crew with the opening two stages of the event taking place in darkness on Thursday night.

The next two days are centred around Gap before returning to Monte Carlo Saturday evening. Sunday’s final morning loop takes place before the finish in Monte Carlo on Sunday afternoon. Updates on the lad’s progress during the event are available via twitter @DMKMotorsport and Facebook at Daniel McKenna Rallying. The club wishes them the very best for this event and the rest of the year.


Hayes’s plough through opposition on 1000 Shakes

Cork Motor Club played host to round 4 of the National Night Navigation Championship last Saturday night. COC Greg Shinnors organised a challenging 85 mile event through the North Cork countryside. Arctic weather conditions in the lead-up to the event resulted in snow & ice covering the majority of the route. The hazardous conditions had competing crews fighting for traction & struggling to keep the car in a straight line. Local crew David Beamish/Muireann Hayes took a well deserved win from Owen Murphy/Daire Hayes, which secured a 1-2 finish for the Hayes family. Club members Pakie Duffy & Evin Hughes finished right behind in 3rd to maintain their overall lead in the Championship. Defending National champions, Colin Duffy & Sam Johnston were sidelined with a broken radiator. Richard Cassidy also made the long trip from Monaghan and he and navigator Paul Phelan finished in 4th place. The National Night Navigation Championship continues with Skibbereen Motor Club hosting the 100 Isles event on Saturday 31st of January.

Donegal Navigation Trial


The Night Navigations are coming thick and fast with Donegal Motor Club hosting the Eamon Harvey memorial event this Saturday, January 24th. The event is the third round of the Squealing Pig Border Navigation Championship. COC Barry Boyle is planning an 80 mile event run from Termon Community Centre with the first car departing at 9.01p.m. A number of Monaghan crews are expected to make the trip for this event. Full report will be available next week.

Upcoming events:

January 24th Donegal Night Navigation Trial

January 31st Donegal Forestry Rally

January 31st Skibbereen Night Navigation Trial

February 7th/8th Galway International Rally

February 14th Midland Navigation Trial

February 15th Monaghan Autotest



There was a good attendance at the Annual General Meeting of Co. Monaghan Motor Club held in the Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan on Friday 16th January.

Club Secretary Cora Maguire provided a summary of the 8 events run by the club during 2014 and concluded by confirming that she was stepping down as Secretary after 15 years in this role. The Chairman Paul Hughes thanked Cora for her work and commitment during this time and confirmed that she would continue as an ex officio member of the committee.

Treasurer Cathal MacArtain then presented a positive report on the financial performance of the club and thanked his assistant Brendan Flynn for his substantial input. A total of €1280 was donated to local charities.

The Chairman, in an extensive report, thanked all who assisted the club throughout the year. In particular, he had words of praise for the Gardai, Monaghan County Council, Monaghan Municipal District committee members, Civil Defence, Red Cross, local media, residents on event routes and members of the public for their support.

He thanked the club’s main sponsors the Hillgrove Hotel, as well as the Northern Standard, Wrights Quarries, McAree Engineering, Sean McDermott’s GFC and all advertisers in the rally programme.

2014 had been another successful year for the club and its members. It was a special year for the club in terms of competitor success. For the first time ever, two Monaghan men and stalwart club members Daniel McKenna and Arthur Kierans were crowned overall British Rally Champions. Sam Moffett and James O’Reilly made their debut in the World Rally Championship in Germany, having secured 3 outright wins in Monaghan, Limerick and the Killarney International Rally of the Lakes. There was continued success on the national scene where Monaghan club members won many of the key championships as well as individual events.

The Chairman reminded the meeting that the work involved in running the club events is increasing. More volunteers are required and he appealed to the members to give this serious consideration. He concluded by wishing all club members continued success and safe motoring in 2015.

The officers and committee members elected for 2015 are as follows:

President: Charles McCollum

Chairman: Paul Hughes

Vice-Chairman: Conor Maguire

Club Secretary: Roisin Meenagh

Event Secretary: Gary Hall

Treasurer: Cathal MacArtain

Assistant Treasurer: Brendan Flynn

PRO: Evin Hughes

Registrar: Ronnie Hawe

Committee: Damien Treanor, Kerry Stevenson, Thomas Treanor, John Kelly, Eoghan Corr, Shane Maguire, Garry Farrelly, Ciaran Tynan, Jonathan McGovern, Michael Sheridan. Ex Officio: Cora Maguire.

There followed a lively discussion on some of the new regulations introduced by Motorsport Ireland for 2015. It was agreed to arrange a meeting with all interested parties in the near future. The date for this meeting will be confirmed on the club website.


Comments are closed.