Mackarel/Deery’s Narrow Endurance Win

Posted: August 18, 2015 in Uncategorized


Local pairing Derek Mackarel & Peter Deery took overall victory by 7 seconds on last Sunday’s Endurance Trial, driving a Toyota Starlet. The event consisted of 10 selectives which were each used twice. Mackarel/Derry were involved in a day long battle with Robert Barrable & Damien Connolly (Toyota Glanza). Barrable/Connolly were quickest on the tests but incurred a 20 second penalty on one of the tests which dropped them to 3rd overall behind Kieran McCarra/Gary McCrudden (Mitsubishi Colt).

The opening loop featured selectives at Monaghan, Ballybay, Latton and Swans Cross. Barrable/Connolly and Mackarel/Derry were tied for the lead with a seven second advantage over Kieran McCarra/Gary McCrudden in 3rd. Following the repeat of these selectives, Mackarel/Deery had taken a five second lead over Barrable/Connolly with Alan & George Shinnors from Limerick moving into 3rd place twenty seconds off the lead.

The next section consisted of selectives at Maguire’s near Ballinode and Rally School Ireland repeated twice before a trio of selectives at Watterson’s Quarry, McAree’s and McMeel’s that completed the action. Barrable/Connolly then surged in front with a series of fastest times. Mackarel/Deery had a few mechanical problems but stayed in touch. Barrable/Connolly encountered some mechanical problems of their own but held onto the lead to finish eight seconds ahead of Mackarel/Deery on times but their road penalty dropped them to 3rd. Kieran McCarra/Gary McCrudden set some very fast times in the afternoon to move up to 2nd place to finish seven seconds behind Mackarel/Deery. Alan & George Shinnors took 4th overall and 1st in class A2 with Martin Tynan & Darren McCague completing the top five finishers. Karl O’Donoghue/Evin Hughes took 6th overall and 3rd in class A2.

Michael Tynan & Ciaran Tynan won class A1 in the baby Daihatsu. Class B went to Samuel & Carol Patterson with Adam Kinkade/Jacinta Magennis 2nd and Eoin Longworth/Patrick O’Leary in 3rd. Class C was won by Peter & Shane Farrell from David Dixon/Gerry Grimes with Lindsay Boyd/Christine Boyd in 3rd.


1 Derek Mackarel/Peter Deery (Toyota Starlet) 8m 17s,
2 Kieran McCarra/Gary McCrudden (Mitsubishi Colt) 8m 24s,
3 Robert Barrable/Damien Connolly (Toyota Glanza) 8m 29s,
4 Alan Shinnors/George Shinnors (Toyota Starlet) 8m 44s,
5 Martin Tynan/Darren McCague (Toyota Starlet) 8m 48s,
6 Karl O’Donoghue/Evin Hughes (Toyota Starlet) 9m 10s.
Class winners: Mickey Tynan/Ciaran Tynan (Daihatsu Cuore) 10m 10s.
Navigation Cars:
1 Peter Farrell/Shane Farrell (Honda Civic) 10m 41s,
2 David Dixon/Gerry Grimes (Mazda 323) 12m 54s,
3 Samuel Patterson/Carol Patterson (Opel Corsa) 13m 21s.
Class winners: Samuel Patterson/Carol Patterson.

Kierans on Podium at Ulster Rally


Arthur Kierans guided Derek McGeehan to 3rd overall on last weekend’s Ulster International Rally. The event was a counting round of both the Irish Tarmac and Nothern Ireland Rally Championships. Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan took overall victory to add the Irish Tarmac Championship to the National Rally Championship they had already won.

Daniel McKenna took the wheel of Brendan Kelly’s Toyota AE86 and guided this unique car to 8th overall along with navigator Gordon Noble. Mac Kierans added more success for the Kierans family with 16th overall and 3rd in class along with driver Alan Smyth.

Stephen Wright/Mickie Galvin retired their Ford Fiesta R5 on stage eight while in 4th place overall. Emmet Sherry was navigating for Isle of Mull resident Fergus Barlow but their rally came to an end after an off on stage 8.

Open Meeting


Following on from the successful Open Forum held in February last, Monaghan Motor Club will host an Open Meeting on Monday 31st August in the Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan commencing at 8pm. A report will be provided at this meeting on the outcome of the meeting to be held in the previous week with the Rallies Committee and rallies club delegates. While there will be an open agenda on 31st August, it is expected that the main topic for discussion will be potential future rule changes. All members are urged to attend.


Comments are closed.