Monaghan Crews Dominate Carrick-on-Suir Forestry Rally

Posted: February 16, 2016 in Uncategorized


It was a red letter day for Monaghan crews on last weekend’s Carrick-on-Suir Forestry Rally. The event was the opening round of the 2016 Irish Forestry Championship. With reigning champions, Josh Moffett & Jason McKenna non-starting, it was left to Josh’s brother Sam & his father Robert to fly the family flag.


Sam, who was navigated by Cavan’s James Fulton on this occasion set the pace on the opening stage. Tyrone’s Niall McCullagh took the lead on stage two and the pair would be involved in a close battle for the remainder of the day. McCullagh led after four stages with Moffett 14 seconds in arrears. Michael Carbin/Darragh Kelly were on an impressive charge in their Lancer and held 4th overall. Michael Conlon/Ciaran McPhillips were involved in a close three way battle for 2wd honours whilst Derek Mackarel/Daire Hayes continued their incredible pace from 2015 by holding 12th overall in their Nova by the half way stage. Robert Moffett & James O’Reilly were having a cautious run in Robert’s first rally in over a decade and for the first time behind the wheel of a Ford Fiesta WRC.


The battle between Sam Moffett & McCullagh came to end when the Tyrone driver was sidelined on stage seven. Moffett & Fulton proceeded to take a one minute victory. This was also the first overall win for an R5 car in the Republic of Ireland. Michael Carbin/Darragh Kelly recorded their best ever result with 3rd overall after a close battle with Patrick O’Brien/Aine McGuigan. Michael Conlon/Ciaran McPhillips finished 8th overall and 1st in class 13. They were also the third 2wd car home. Derek Mackarel/Daire Hayes finished 13th overall and were comfortable winners in the Junior class. Robert Moffett/James O’Reilly took their WRC Fiesta home to 15th overall.


Round 2 of the Irish Forestry Championship is the Moonraker Forestry Rally on April 16th.




1 Sam Moffett/James Fulton (Fiesta R5) 37m 37s,
2 Patrick O’Brien/Aine McGuigan (Lancer Evo 9 Gp N) 38m 40s,
3 Mickey Carbin/Darragh Kelly (Lancer Evo 4) 39m 07s,
4 Liam Ryan/Keith Moriarty (Lancer Evo 8) 39m 28s,
5 Gerard Lucey/J J Cremin (Lancer Evo 8) 39m 51s,
6 Adrian Hetherington/Gary Nolan (Escort) 40m 11s,
7 John Gordon/Thomas Wedlock (Escort) 40m 23s,
8 Mickey Conlon/Ciaran McPhillips (Escort) 40m 30s,
9 Dermot Kelly/Greg Shinnors (Lancer Evo) 41m 05s,
10 Hugh McQuaid/Enda Gerety (Escort) 41m 50s.
Junior Class: 1 Derek Mackarel/Daire Hayes (Nova) 42m 14s.



McCarra Top Local on Autotest


Monaghan Motor Club’s annual autotest took place on Sunday last in Wright’s Quarry, Swan’s Cross. Kieran McCarra showed the locals the way on the club event taking a 30 seconds victory over the eight timed tests. Martin Tynan bagged some useful Trader’s championship points with 2nd place. Damien Hagan just held off Declan Tynan for 3rd with Ciaran Tynan in 5th place.


In the main Hewison Trophy section of the event, Guy Foster took overall victory from Steven Ferguson, both driving Mini Specials. Darren Quille driving a Westfield was in 3rd place overall.




1 Guy Foster (Mini Special) 562.3s,
2 Steven Ferguson (Mini Special) 579.3s,
3 Darren Quille (Westfield) 584.3s,

Club Members:

1 Kieran McCarra (Starlet) 375.1s,
2 Martin Tynan (Starlet) 403.5s,
3 Damien Hagan (Starlet) 417.0s,
4 Declan Tynan (Starlet) 419.8s,
5 Ciaran Tynan (Daihatsu) 421.0s,
6 Damien Connolly (Mini Special) 427.6s.


Midland Night Navigation Trial


On a busy weekend of motorsport, Longford’s Colin Duffy & Sam Johnston made a winning return to the Night Navigation scene with overall victory on the Midland Navigation Trial, based in Ballinalee, Co. Longford. The pair came home on a clean sheet. Monaghan’s Martin Tynan & Fintan Clerkin kept up their good recent form with 2nd overall with Michael & Ciaran Tynan just behind in 3rd. National Championship leaders, Pakie Duffy & Evin Hughes secured 5th overall to maintain their lead in both the National & Border Championships.


COC Nigel McCloughry laid out a challenging 70 mile route which was primarily based on tarmac roads but with plenty of good navigation required. The trick of the night was the issuing of plot & bash for TP15 at TP1, which only a small number of crews were able to notice. This was the cause of the majority of crews dropping penalties.


Keith McConnan & Micheal McCluskey took 1st in the Semi-Expert class followed home by Eoghan Corr/Ruadhri Nash. Aiden Sherry & Oisin Sherlock took 2nd in the Novice class on a tie-break from Mac Kierans/Conor Boylan. This result secured 1st in the Novice class in the Munster Championship for Conor with Oisin taking 2nd in the same class.


The next round of the National & Border Night Navigation Championships is the Cavan Navigation Trial on 27th February.




1 Colin Duffy/Sam Johnston (Subaru Impreza) 0 marks,
2 Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin (Subaru Impreza) 2m,
3 Mickey Tynan/Ciaran Tynan (Subaru Impreza) 5m,
4 Dermot Whelton/Mark McCarthy (Subaru Impreza) 23m,
5 Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes (Subaru Impreza) 24m,
6 Andrew Stewart/Robert Howard (Peugeot 205) 26m,
7 Keith McConnon/Micheal McCluskey (Subaru Impreza) 31m,
8 Alan Shinnors/George Shinnors (Subaru Impreza) 30m,
9 Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan (Vauxhall Vectra) 36m,
10 Brendan Treanor/Garry Farrelly (Subaru Impreza) 36m,
11 Aidan Sherry/Oisin Sherlock (Subaru Impreza) 39m,
12 Mac Kierans/Conor Boylan (Subaru Impreza) 39m.




Comments are closed.