Duffy & Hughes Crowned National Navigation Champions

Posted: June 14, 2016 in Uncategorized


Ballinamuck driver Pakie Duffy & Ballybay navigator Evin Hughes claimed the National Night Navigation Championship Trophy for the second successive year at the annual prizegiving on  Saturday last 11th June in Portlaoise. The Longford/Monaghan duo took three wins from seven starts to overcome the challenge of Skibbereen pair, Dermot Whelton & Mark McCarthy. Clones pair Michael Tynan & Ciaran Tynan made just five starts but their results were good enough to claim 3rd overall.


Monaghan Club Members were also successful in the classes. Richard Cassidy claimed 2nd overall driver. Keith McConnon/Micheal McCluskey won the Semi-Expert class with Peter & Shane Farrell finishing 2nd. The Novice class was closely contested with just two points separating the top three navigators at the end of the season. Aiden Sherry/Conor Boylan won the class with Colm Mohan/Oisin Sherlock 2nd and Mac Kierans 3rd driver.


The Squealing Pig Border Navigation Championship prizegiving is scheduled to take place on Friday 24th June.


Laois Heartlands Rally


Raymond Conlon/Nicola McKenna were the leading Monaghan crew on last weekend’s Laois Mini Stages Rally. The six stage event consisted of two fast and flowing stages, repeated three times. Conlon/McKenna had a solid run in their Corolla to come home 12th overall and 5th in class 13. John McQuaid/Stephen Hagan also made the trip down as a warm up for the Donegal International next weekend. They retired while holding 15th overall. Stephen Corey/Declan McKenna retired on stage 3 while holding 17th overall.


Mourne Rally


James O’Reilly navigated Derek McGarrity to 2nd overall on last weekend’s Mourne Rally. The event was a counting round of Northern Ireland Rally Championship. Elsewhere, Mac Kierans guided Alan Smyth to a fine 9th overall in their Suzuki Swift.



Mayo Autocross


Regular Autocross competitors, Andy & Derek Mackarel & Michael & Martin Tynan made the trip to Mayo to compete on the local loose surface Autocross. It was Derek Mackarel who set the pace on the opening two runs in the family Evo but Tipperary’s Pat O’Connell stormed through the final run to snatch victory as Mackarel was hit by mechanical problems. Former Mayo Autocross champion, Martin Tynan was in the thick of the action all day and secured 2nd overall thanks to Mackarel’s woes. Martin’s father, Michael Tynan secured 4th overall with Derek’s father, Andy Mackarel taking 5th overall. It was a great day for the Monaghan men as they took four of the five top places out of a total entry of 51. The next Mayo Autocross takes place on July 24th.


Donegal International Rally


Monaghan Motor Club are set to be well represented on next weekend’s Donegal International Rally. Conor Foley joins forces with Donagh Kelly once again as they hope to continue their winning ways in Birr, West Cork & Killarney. Sam Moffett & Josh Moffett slot in at No.8 and No.9 in their R5 Fiestas as they aim to score valuable points for the Irish Tarmac Championship. Stephen Wright/Fintan Sherry will have similar hopes and start at No.14. Enda Sherry is set to navigate for Scotland’s David Bogie at No.19. Damien Connolly is joining forces with local hero, James Cullen, who is coming out of retirement to commemorate 25 years since his first Donegal win.


Andrew Grennan is navigating for Vivian Hamill. Richard Moffett/Martin Connolly & David Moffett/Johnny Baird will be battling it out in their Starlets. Michael Carbin/Darragh Kelly switch back to the Tarmac following their Forestry outings. John McQuaid/Stephen Hagan once again take their Escort to the Donegal hills. Pauric Duffy makes the trip home from Australia to compete in his R5 Fiesta. Emmet Sherry is navigating for Tommy O’Connell at No.80, while Gerard McQuaid/Thomas Treanor are at No.85. James McCarville/Gareth Doherty will be pushing for Class 11R honours as will David Smyth/Loretta Kelly.


Brendan & JP McAree are trying their hand at the Historic Rally which is contested over the Saturday & Sunday stages. Marshals are also required for this event and those available are asked to contact Kerry Stevenson or Paul Hughes.




Comments are closed.