Duffy & Hughes Win in Longford

Posted: December 6, 2016 in Uncategorized

Ballybay’s Evin Hughes guided local man Pakie Duffy to overall victory on last weekend’s Midland Navigation Trial. The event was a counting round of the National & Border Navigation Championships. COC Robert Howard organised a 70 mile route through some classic navigation country based out of the town of Drumlish. Duffy/Hughes took a clear win with championship rivals Derek Mackarel/Muireann Hayes in 2nd and Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan taking 3rd.

There was drama even before the event began as Richard Cassidy’s Vectra broke a diff coming off the trailer, seemingly ending their event before it even began. A frantic call to the Mackarel family followed and a car was located but it was back in Stonebridge! Richard & Janice Mackarel met in Cavan and switched cars. Richard made it back just in time for the start.


After a fairly straight-forward start, the event tightened up considerably between TP7 to TP11 which included two Plot & Bash timepoints. Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes and Shane Dalton/Nigel McCloughrey were both on clean sheets with Dermot Whelton/Mark McCarthy & Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan both just one penalty adrift. A jumbled tulip diagram used for TP13 caught out some crews, but everyone found the ‘snake herringbone’ tulip for TP16 and TP17 difficult to decipher.


Duffy/Hughes pulled clear on this section dropping just 1 penalty into TP18. Derek Mackarel/Muireann Hayes were the only other crew to correctly complete this section dropping 11 penalties. Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan, showing no ill effects from their late car change, also successfully negotiated the tulip but went over maximum lateness at TP18. Despite this, they claimed 3rd overall.


A long Speed Regulation Section brought crews back to Drumlish with no other changes to the leaderboard. So it was Duffy/Hughes who picked up their first win of the season with Mackarel/Hayes in 2nd to maintain their lead in the National & Border Championships. Cassidy/Phelan completed the podium in 3rd place with Dalton/McCloughrey and Tynan/Tynan 4th and 5th respectively.


Mac Kierans/Conor Boylan (55 pens) won the Semi-Expert class from Jack McKenna/Andrew Wedlock (100 pens) and Peter Farrell/Shane Farrell (125 pens). Local men Darren Quinn/Seamus McTigue (53 pens) won the Novice class from Michael Carbin/Conor Mohan (63 pens) & Kevin McCormick/David McCrudden (74 pens). In the Beginner’s class, Paddy Callaghan/Sean Cahill Jnr (129 pens) won from Ballybay men Aaron Dixon/Dylan Lennon (133 pens) with Mark McDermott/Patrick Brides (154 pens) third.


Midland Navigation Trial Top 12:

1 Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes (Subaru Impreza) 1 mark, 2 Derek Mackarel/Muireann Hayes (Subaru Impreza) 15m, 3 Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan (Subaru Impreza) 39m, 4 Shane Dalton/Nigel McCloughry (Subaru Impreza) 44m, 5 Mickey Tynan/Ciaran Tynan (Subaru Impreza) 45m, 6 Ray O’Neill/Stephen O’Neill (Subaru Impreza) 52m, 7 Darren Quinn/Seamus McTigue (Subaru Legacy) 53m, 8 Mac Kierans/Conor Boylan (Subaru Impreza) 55m, 9 Mickey Carbin/Conor Mohan (Subaru Impreza) 63m, 10 Dermot Whelton/Mark McCarthy (Subaru Impreza) 64m, 11 Kevin McCormack/David McCrudden (Subaru Impreza) 74m, 12 Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin (Subaru Impreza) 76m.



Killarney Historic Rally


Dessie Keenan & James McCarville were in action at last weekend’s Killarney Historic Stages Rally. Dessie, who is a former winner of the event, piloted James’ Escort through some classic stages including Moll’s Gap and Gortnagane. The pair finished 7th overall in the Modified Section of the event and 2nd in class. Ballinode’s Vincent & JP McAree came home 32nd overall and 10th in class. Vincent’s father, Brendan & John Henderson retired their Porsche on stage six. Raymond Conlon/James O’Reilly retired their Corolla on the opening stage.


The Historic Rally was won by Ryan Barrett/Paul McCann while the Modified Rally was won by Robert Duggan/Ger Conway.


Annual General Meeting


All club members are asked to take note that the Annual General Meeting of Co. Monaghan Motor Club will take place on Friday 20th January 2017. Check the club website www.monaghanmotorclub.net and club Facebook page.   


Comments are closed.