Moffett Mops Up in Munster

Posted: June 6, 2017 in Uncategorized

Moffett Mops Up in MunsterThe Triton National Rally Championship continued with last Sunday’s Circuit of Munster Rally. The Rathkeale-based event consisted of nine stages in total. Variable weather conditions meant a headache for crews to pick the correct tyre. Sam Moffett with stand-in navigator Keith Moriarty took the overall win. This was Sam’s 4th win from 4 rounds in the 2017 series and leaves him with a healthy lead at the top of the standings as the championship reaches its halfway mark.

This proved to be the most hard-fought win of the year. After taking the lead on the opening stages, Donegal’s Donagh Kelly with Ballinode’s Conor Foley navigating surged ahead on stage two and led until stage five where a brace of fastest times allowed Moffett/Moriarty back into the lead. They held just a 2.1 second advantage going into the final loop and charged through the last three stages to secure the win by a margin of 12.4 seconds. Moffett also won the Power Stage and Triton Showers Drive of the Day. Kelly/Foley took 2nd to remain firmly in contention for the championship. Alastair Fisher/Gordon Noble were almost two minutes adrift in 3rd in their R5 Fiesta.

Josh Moffett & James Fulton had a steady run to 8th place as Josh acclimatised himself again following his accident in Monaghan. Niall Maguire, with Anthony Nestor navigating, overcame a first stage stall to take 9th. Shane Maguire & Paul McLoughlin took 2nd in Group N and 12th overall. This promotes Shane into the lead of the Group N championship after rival David Guest retired. John McQuaid/Thomas Treanor brought their Escort home 20th overall and 3rd in class 14 on John’s first event in almost a year. Emmet Sherry guided Tommy O’Connell to 28th overall and 3rd in class 13. Jonathan Treanor & Stephen McElroy took victory in the Junior class in their Civic. They once again set times which had them on the fringes of the top 10 overall.

The next round of the Triton Showers National Championship is the Waterford-based Ravens Rock Rally at the end of the month.
Border Navigation Championship Prizegiving

The Squealing Pig Border Navigation Prizegiving took place last Friday in the Squealing Pig in Monaghan town. Pakie Duffy & Evin Hughes were presented with their prizes as overall winners for the second successive year. They paid thanks to Championship sponsor Raymond Aughey, the organisers committee and the clubs and officials who ran the events. The prizegiving was once again well attended and a good night had by all.

National Navigation Championship Prizegiving
The National Navigation Championship prizegiving takes place this Saturday in the Gandon Inn in Emo just off Junction 15 on the M7. The annual Forum takes place beforehand which allows competitors and organisers to have their say on the running of Endurance Trials and Night Navigations. The forum commences at 8pm. This will then be followed by the Munster Championship prizegiving which was won by the Monaghan/Cork pair of Derek Mackarel & Muireann Hayes. They were also runners-up in the National Championship where Pakie Duffy & Evin Hughes recorded a third win in a row.

Iontas Exhibition

The Iontas Theatre in Castleblayney is currently featuring the Monaghan Motor Club photographic exhibition in recognition of the club’s 60th anniversary. The extensive exhibition includes photographs and articles covering the foundation of the club in the late 1950s and chronicles the development and activities of the club and its members throughout the intervening decades up to the turn of the century. This is a special opportunity for those who have not yet seen this compelling work. The exhibition continues until 29th June. For details of opening hours check out


Comments are closed.