Moffett clinches Title No.2!

Posted: September 26, 2017 in Uncategorized


Sam Moffett is one event away from sealing a historic three Irish championships in one season. Sam secured the National Championship in July and last weekend he added the Irish Forestry Championship at the Bushwhacker Rally. Sam and co-driver, Stephen Thornton, put in a steady drive to secure 6th place overall which was more than enough to wrap up the championship. Sam now only needs to start next weekend’s Cork 20 Rally to secure the Irish Tarmac Championship.


The Omagh based Bushwhacker Rally attracted a strong entry. It was a counting round of both the Irish Forestry and Northern Ireland Championships. Top Monaghan finisher was James O’Reilly who guided Derek McGarritty to 5th overall. Moffett/Thornton finished a steady 6th after a measured drive through the gravel stages. Mac Kierans guided Alan Smyth to 8th overall in their Lancer. His father, Arthur Kierans, guided Johnny Leonard to 11th overall. Brendan Cumiskey/Conor Foley finished 13th overall.


Michael Carbin/Conor Mohan took 22nd overall. Michael Conlon/Ciaran McPhillips brought their Escort home to 31st overall. Derek Mackarel/Muireann Hayes finished 40th overall and took class 3 honours by just 1 second. Retirement beckoned for Frank Kelly/Emmet Sherry, Vivian Hamill/Andrew Grennan and John O’Sullivan/Kaine Treanor.



Navigation Trial


The Night Navigation season begins on Saturday night with the Navigation Trial taking place on Saturday 30th September. COC Shane Farrell hopes to have 80 miles for competitors based out of the Sean McDiarmada GAA centre at Three Mile House. The event is the final round of this year’s Traders Trophy and Gary Nesbitt Club Navigation Championships.  Regulations and Entry forms are available on  Marshals are required for this event and those available to marshal should present at HQ no later than 8pm.


Potential competitors are also asked to review the new regulations for the coming season. The new regulations are available on the Motorsport Ireland website under 2017 Yearbook Amendments, Articles 33 and 34.






Comments are closed.