Moffett Move to Brink of National Title

Posted: July 16, 2019 in Uncategorized

Josh Moffett is just one event away from the 2019 Triton National Rally Championship after taking overall victory in last weekend’s Sligo Stages Rally.

Moffett and co-driver Andy Hayes led the event from start to finish. Their nearest pursuers were once again Roy White & James O’Brien who finished 23 seconds in arrears. Northern Ireland’s Johnny Greer & Kirsty Riddick took 3rd place.

Moffett was fastest on the opening stage at Glencar, five seconds up on White and the pair were already well ahead of the chasing pack. Moffett increased his advantage to 10 seconds by first service. Greer held 3rd from Cork’s Keith Cronin both in R5 Fiestas. Kevin Eves was the leading two wheel drive car in 5th place.

Moffett continued to gradually increase his lead with another trio of fastest stage times. White remained 16.7 seconds adrift in a solid 2nd. White shaded Moffett by 0.6 of a second on stage seven, the only stage in which Moffett was bested all day. The Monaghan-Wexford team were delighted to notch their fifth win in six events and now only require a top eight finish in Galway to secure the title. The top five was completed by Greer, Eves and the flying David Moffett & Martin Connolly. The Monaghan pair also won class 13 and the Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship Drive of the Day.

Shane Maguire & Darragh Kelly took another convincing Group N win and 8th overall in their Lancer. Conor Mohan guided Eamon Kelly to 10th overall in their R2 Fiesta. Martin McPhillips/Paul Kelly finished 21st overall and 2nd in class 11R. Aisling McArdle guided Des Lyons to 33rd overall and 2nd in class 11F. Cathal Sheridan & Peter Deery won class 10 and were 46th overall. Peter & Shane Farrell were 66th overall and 2nd in class 10. Nigel & Ryan Brennan finished a fine 2nd in class 16 (Junior class).

The National Rally Championship resumes with the Galway Summer Rally in August where Josh Moffett hopes to seal the coveted National title completing his grand slam of Irish Rally Championships.

O’Donoghue & Hughes take Endurance Honours

Karl O’Donoghue & Evin Hughes won last weekend’s Wexford Endurance Trial based in Ballynboola, Co. Wexford. The Dublin-Monaghan duo emerged 15 seconds clear of Derek Butler & Oisin Sherlock after a gripping battle between the pair during the day.

Reigning Champion Peter Barrable & Kevin Fagan led after the opening loop but suspension damage and missed code boards would drop them back. O’Donoghue/Hughes & Butler/Sherlock were dead equal after 6 selectives and after Butler/Sherlock dropped 10 seconds on Test 7, only 1 second slip them over the next three selectives.

O’Donoghue/Hughes made good progress on the next loop to increase their advantage to 14 seconds. Butler/Sherlock put in a storming through the Quarry to trim 4 seconds back but a canceled selective worked against the crew and O’Donoghue/Hughes were able to increase their advantage on the final test to take a 15 second win.

Aaron McElroy guided Circuit Racer Nicole Drought to an impressive 5th overall in their 1 litre Micra, comfortably taking class honours. Emmet Sherry & Ben Kellett had a difficult day at the office with Jack McKenna suffering a hugely disappointing exit before the first selective with mechanical woes. James Kelly/Craig McPhillips & Aiden Sherry/James Sherry enjoyed their day in the Wexford Sunshine.

The Irish Endurance Championship heads next to Munster for the first time with the Regie Tilson Endurance Trial in Cork on Sunday August 4th.

Monaghan’s own Endurance event takes place two weeks later on August 18th.


Comments are closed.