Club Success at Tarmac and Border Championship Prizegivings

Posted: November 5, 2013 in Uncategorized


Tarmac Championship Awards


In what was a busy weekend for club members with the Irish Tarmac Championship awards and the Border Rally Championship awards both taking place on Saturday night 2nd November. The Tarmac awards ceremony took place in Stormont in Belfast where Fermanagh’s Gary Jennings & Wicklow’s Kevin Flanagan were crowned the 2013 Irish Tarmac Champions. Pride of place amongst the Monaghan crews went to the brother & sister team of Stephen & Suzanne Wright who were the overall Group N champions. This was a remarkable result given that it was their first time contesting the series. They had a tremendous battle all year with fellow Monaghan man Josh Moffett and his Antrim co-driver, John Rowan. In the end, Josh & John had to settle for 2nd place in Group N this year. Not to be outdone, Josh’s brother Sam secured 3rd overall in the championship which was no mean feat as he split the season between his Group N Lancer and a McKinstry WRC Subaru. His overall win with navigator James O’Reilly in Donegal was the highlight of his Championship. Shane Maguire was classified 2nd in Class 4 despite just two outings during the year.


Sligo Pallets Border Championship Awards


Monaghan success was once again in abundance at the annual Border Championship Prizegiving in the Sligo Park Hotel. The overall winners of the championship were Cavan’s Gary Kiernan ably navigated by Niall Tierney. This was a great success for Niall who was in his first season competing. Aghabog father and son team, Arthur & Mac Kierans, champions for the last two years, finished 3rd overall in the championship this year.


There was also excellent success for Monaghan crews in the classes once again. Francie McKenna/Sean Craig were the class 1 champions in their MG. Josh Moffett was the class 4 champion with Shane Maguire finishing runner-up. Justin Smyth/Gregory McQuillan finished 2nd in class 9 while John & Niall Kelly claimed class 10 honours. David Smyth/Mark Deery were the class 11R champions, while Seamus Connolly/Gary McCrudden finished 3rd in the same class. Raymond Conlon went home with his award for 2nd place in class 13. Once again, an excellent year for Monaghan crews in the Border Championship.


Cork Star-Trek Night Nav


A number of Monaghan crews made the trip to Cork for Round 1 of the 2013-2014 National Night Navigation Championship. The event consisted of a challenging 85 mile route organised by leading Cork competitors Ken Carmody & Johnny Kenneally. Richard Cassidy had his usual Dublin navigator Paul Phelan navigating him. The pair finished in 4th place overall in what was a tough event with only one crew finishing under 100 penalties. Hot on their heels were Ashley McAdoo and Laurence Keenan who finished in 5th place overall and 1st in the Semi-Expert class. Also making the trip down were Peter Farrell & Shane Farrell who were taking part in their first Cork event. This was a good result for this crew who finished 3rd in the Beginners class on a very demanding event. The next National round is the Drumlin Navigation Trial on Saturday night next.


Drumlin Navigation Trial


Monaghan’s premier Navigation Trial takes place next weekend. COC Gary Farrelly and assistant Sean McKenna are putting the finishing touches to a 120 mile route based out of Tyholland. The event is Round 2 of the National Night Navigation Championship and Round 1 of the Squeling Pig Border Navigation Championship. Crucially the event is the final round of the Monaghan Motor Club Traders and Gary Nesbitt Championships. Damien Connolly currently leads the Traders Championship, but Martin Tynan & Derek Mackarel are also firmly in contention. As usual, marshals are needed to man the various timepoints, vias and controls that mark the route. Marshals are asked to meet in the Tyholland Community Centre at 8pm.


Kerry Mini Stages Rally


A number of club members are making the long trip south to compete on the Kerry Mini Stages Rally on Sunday next. The event is the final round of West Coast Rally Championship, which is led by Ballinode’s Shane Maguire and Fermanagh co-driver Martin McGarritty. Best of luck to all Monaghan crews.




Comments are closed.