Midlands Men Conquer 2013 Drumlin

Posted: November 21, 2013 in Uncategorized


Midlands MC crew Sam Johnston partner by driver Colin Duffy came away with the overall win on Monaghans drumlin night navigation trial held on Saturday week last. Coc’s for the event, Gary Farrelly and Sean Mc Kenna set out a demanding route, 120 miles stretching from Tyholland through Clontibret, Ardaghey, Ballybay, Broomfield and Carrickmacross to ensure the biggest navigation event in the calendar lived up to its name. By petrol halt in Mc Caugheys, Broomefield, Noel Hall and Trevor Farrell were clear leaders, only down 1 penalty but they were forced into retirement mid way through the second half with a burst radiator. Johnston and Duffy took over at the helm and finished with a 9 penalty advantage over Richard Cassidy and Paul Phelan. Damien Connolly, partnered by Donegal driver were 3rd overall and in doing so, Damien was crowned Monaghan MC traders champion for 2013.

            Michael and Ciaran Tynan were 4th overall and took 3rd in the expert class. Ashley McAdoo and Laurence Keenan took the semi expert class with Corks David Beamish and Muireann Hayes 2nd semi. Bobby Sharkey and Mac Kierans finished 3rd in class. Donegal/Cork pairing of Trevor McConnell and Eoghan McCarthy made their journeys worthwhile with a novice class win. Conor Meehan and Brendan Keenan were 2nd with Donegal men Dessie Dorrian, driven by Ciaran Coyle coming out of retirement to claim 3rd novice on what was a very tough event. Derek Mackarel and Fintan McGorman kept up their good form of late to take the beginners class, followed by Peter and Shane Farrell with Lindsay and Christine Boyd 3rd.

            So that’s the drumlin over for another year and well done to CoC’s Gary/Sean and all their team on a truly mammoth task of running such a big event. Big congratulations also to Damien Connolly on winning the traders club championship following this event and also to Ashley McAdoo and Damien Connolly for winning the Gary Nesbitt club navigation championship. All roads lead to Ballinamuck, Longford this Saturday for round 2 of the Squealing Pig border navigation championship. Full Report next week.


Monaghan MC Drumlin Navigation Top 10

1/ Colin Duffy/Sam Johnston 27marks

2/ Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan 36m

3/ Gary McElhinney/Damien Connolly 37m

4/ Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan 46m

5/ Stephen Wright/Daire Hayes 74m

6/ Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes 88m

7/ Ashley McAdoo/Laurence Keenan 89m

8/ Trevor McConnell/Eoghan McCarthey 100m

9/ Ray O’Neill/Stephen O’Neill 119m

10/ Joe Friel/Aidan Friel 137m


Kerry MC Banna Beach Stages

Shane Maguire has emerged from the recent Kerry winter stages rally in BannaBeach as the overall winner of the 2013 Top Part West Coast rally championship. The Ballinode man partnered by Martin McGarrity has had a mixed season, however their determination has paid off with this prestigious victory. The campaign began back in February with the Birr stages, victory in group N and second place points set them up well, however round two wasn’t as kind as a further maximum point’s haul was on the cards until a last stage retirement put pay to their hard endeavours. The third round of the championship took the crew to Limerick, an event which suited the more powerful Escorts. However a healthy haul of points for top group n and fifth place in the championship were welcomed. The championship fight was back on, and the boys duly stamped their intentions in Galway with a fine second place points and again top group n position, the championship was now becoming clearer as it seemed it was now a four way fight between Shane, Alan O’Callaghan, Ed Synan and Kevin Barrett. The penultimate round of the championship saw the crews head to the Clare stages and like all previous rounds the competition was fierce, Barrett took yet another maximum whilst Maguire took third and Synan fourth, O’Callaghans championship suffered a severe blow with his retirement leaving a three way tussle heading into the final round in Banna. Kevin Barrett did not start the final round as his Wrc Subaru wasn’t eligible for the event leaving a two way fight between Synan and Maguire. By mid-point in the event Shane and Martin had turbo problems which left Synan well ahead, however the Maguire team kept their composure to score fourth place points, which was enough to secure the title for the Monaghan man, the championship has been good for Shane as this is the second time for him, having last secured the prize back in 2010. Martin and Shane would like to thank their dedicated service crew of Pauric, Dessie, Michael, Emmet, Bob, Stephen & Gary for their work all year. Shane would also like to thank his sponsors for their support all year.

            Jim Mc Kenna and Thomas Treanor also made the trip south and came away with 2nd in class 14 for their efforts. Michael Carbin and Emmet McCooey were 14th overall and 2nd in class 20 on the difficult Kerry stages. Tommy Boyle, with Monaghans Peter Derry on the notes were 4th in class 11R. The event was won by Mick Quinn and Tony Healy in a class 14 escort, followed by Ed O’Callaghan and Ger Clancy in a class 13 escort. Stephen McCann and Lisa O’Dowd were 3rd in an EVO 7.


Dunlop National Prizegiving

Well done to all club members who picked up awards at the Dunlop National Tarmac Championship Awards night on Saturday night last. Josh Moffatt and John Rowan were rewarded for their exploits this year by winning the group N category in their EVO 9. Cavans Jonathan Pringle and Martin Byrne were crowned Dunlop MKII trophy champions with James Cassidy and James Mc Carville 4th overall in this category. Sam Moffatt and James O’Reilly took class 4 honours with Stephen and Suzanne Wright 2nd and Eugene Meegan and Martin McGarrity 3rd. Shane Maguire was 4th overall driver in class 4.

            Niall Maguire and Enda Sherry were also rewarded for their efforts this year with consistency resulting in 1st in class 8. Cavans Gary Kiernan and Niall Tierney won class 10 with David Smyth and Mark Deery taking 2nd in class 11. Paddy Kiernan (RIP) and James McCarville were awarded class 13 honours on the night. Well done to all recipients.


Wales Rally GB

Daniel McKenna and Arthur Kierans competed in the final round of the World Rally Championship in North Wales last weekend. This was a mammoth 4 day event which was equally demanding on both car and crew. Unfortunately the Monaghan men experienced several mishaps throughout the event but managed to finish 2nd in class and more importantly their stages times were very impressive.  Full report next week.


Monaghan MC Night of Champions

Monaghan Motor Club will host their annual awards dinner dance on Saturday night 30th November. This years event will celebrate the outstanding achievements of its club members, on both the national and international motorsport scene it what is billed as a “Night of Champions” All award winners will be notified but why not come along and show your support for all award winners in whats is guaranteed a great night. MC on the night will be Sean McCaffery with dinner followed by music. Tickets are available from any committee member with dinner served at 8pm sharp in the Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan.


Monaghan Motor Club wish to extend their sincere sympathies to the family and friends of the late Vincent Fagan, Dublin. Vincent was a keen supporter of motorsport and in particular night navigations and retrospectives. Vincent was well known within Monaghan Motor club where he competed on many night navigation trials down through the years and was always about to lend a hand if required. May he rest in peace.


Comments are closed.