Mackarel & Hayes Take Drumlin Spoils

Posted: November 15, 2016 in Uncategorized


Derek Mackarel & Muireann Hayes secured overall victory on last weekend’s Drumlin Navigation Trial, which counted as the second round in the National Navigation Championship.

The event is regarded as the pinnacle event in the Navigation Trial calendar and attracted a strong entry of 38 crews.

COC Martin Connolly laid out a tricky 100 mile route in North-East Monaghan. It was the Monaghan/Cork team of Mackarel & Hayes who put it a faultless run to secure overall honours by a five penalty margin. Derek also clinched the Gary Nesbitt Club Navigation Championship. Martin Tynan & Fintan Clerkin secured 2nd overall.

This result gave Martin his first Trader’s Trophy success after coming close over the last number of years while Fintan was the winning navigator in the Gary Nesbitt Championship. Reigning Trader’s champion, Damien Connolly guided Damien Hagan to 3rd overall.

Conditions were clear and dry as crews left Tyholland Community Centre and on to the opening section in the Castleshane & Glaslough areas. The first Speed Regulation Section caught out a few crews including Trader’s contenders, Damien Hagan/Damien Connolly & Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan who dropped 5 and 3 penalties respectively. TP10 was a plot & bash timepoint with the approach and departure reversed. Top seeds, Dermot Whelton/Mark McCarthy dropped 3 penalties whilst a number of other crews in the Semi-Expert, Novice & Beginner class were also caught out. TP40 was also given at this point on the back of the sheet with some crews failing to notice which gave rise to problems later in the night. TP15 and TP16 involved the use of straight-line and ball & arrow tulips. This was a true test of the navigator and with roads being looped multiple times it was easy to take the wrong route.

After this section just three crews were still on clean sheets.

These were Derek Mackarel/Muireann Hayes, Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes and Ashley McAdoo/Laurence Keenan.  There was no change amongst the leaders before the petrol halt on the outskirts of Monaghan town. Peter Farrell/Shane Farrell were going well to lead the Semi-Expert class on 7 penalties. Kevin McCormick/David McCrudden (17 penalties) led the Novice class with Paddy Sherlock/Pamela McMahon (25 penalties) held a six penalty advantage in the Beginner’s class.

This showed that the Novice and Beginner crews were able to make the timepoints given the mostly tarmac roads & straight forward navigation sections used. 

The crews advanced to the second half which moved towards Tydavnet and Emyvale before coming back through Glaslough and returning to Tyholland shortly before 2am.

The three-way tie for the lead became a two-way tie when McAdoo/Keenan dropped 1 penalty at TP25, Connolly’s yard. A number of crews were surprisingly caught out on the second Speed Regulation Secttion. TP37, another plot & bash timepoint decided the event. Mackarel/Hayes dropped 1 penalty but Duffy/Hughes fared worse with a wrong approach dropping them out of contention. TP40 which had been given earlier caught out a number of crews. McAdoo/Keenan were the main victims as a wrong approach here cost them 2nd overall. 

This left Mackarel/Hayes clear winners on just 1 penalty. Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin took 2nd overall on five penalties with Damien Hagan/Damien Connolly 3rd overall on six penalties. This secured the Trader’s Championship for Martin after many years of trying.

Duffy/Hughes were a disappointed 4th with their wrong approach costing them the win. 5th overall went to McAdoo/Keenan on 18 penalties total. Mac Kierans/Conor Boylan won the Semi-Expert class and claimed 6th overall on 22 penalties total. Kevin McCormack/David McCrudden won the Novice class and finished 8th overall on 36 penalties. Mark Deery/Patrick O’Leary and Mark Sheridan/Craig McPhillips completed the podium places.  Paddy Sherlock/Pamela McMahon won the Beginners class on an excellent 82 penalties holding off Colm & Mark Mohan who claimed 2nd place on 94 penalties. Aaron Dixon/Dylan Lennon secured a fine 3rd in class on 146 penalties.

COC Martin Connolly thanked all who helped in the running of the event particularly the land-owners and residents along the route.

He also thanked Tyholland Community Centre for the excellent venue and all the marshals who turned out to ensure all timepoints were manned. 

Drumlin Navigation Trial Results

1 Derek Mackarel/Muireann Hayes (Subaru Impreza) 1 mark,

2 Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin (Subaru Impreza) 5m,

3 Damien Hagan/Damien Connolly (Subaru Impreza) 6m,

4 Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes (Subaru Impreza) 15m,

5 Ashley McAdoo/Laurence Keenan (Subaru Impreza) 18m,

6 Mac Kierans/Conor Boylan (Subaru Impreza) 22m,

7 Richard Cassidy/Paul Phelan (Vauxhall Vectra) 25m,

8 Kevin McCormack/David McCrudden (Subaru Impreza) 36m,

9 Mickey Tynan/Ciaran Tynan (Subaru Impreza) 44m,

10 Mark Deery/Patrick O’Leary (Subaru Impreza) 49m,

11 Ray O’Neill/Stephen O’Neill (Subaru Impreza) 61m,

12 Mark Sheridan/Craig McPhillips (Subaru Impreza) 67m.

Maguire & Kierans Retain West Coast Rally Title

Shane Maguire & Mac Kierans secured overall victory in the West Coast Rally Championship thanks to a 11th place finish on last weekend’s Kerry Mini Stages Rally. This is Shane’s 4th West Coast title win. Shane took a cautious approach to the event as a solid finish was all that he needed. Kierans, who had travelled through the night from the Drumlin, guided him home.  Anthony Hand & Peter Deery also made the trip down and brought their Escort home in 12th overall and 1st in class 11R. David Smyth/Carmel Tuite finished 36th overall and 3rd in class 11R. Brendan Treanor & Emmet McCooey finished under Rally 2 rules in 54th overall and 5th in class 11R. Daniel Cronin won the event from Jack Newman & Stephen McCann.


Comments are closed.